You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Culinary Challenge #49 Carrot Cake with Dates and Walnuts

in #food7 years ago

Hey there @pandamama (love your username, just rolls off the tongue so nicely!) Well despite not ticking the healthy box this carrot cake certainly looks the part! A lovely moist sponge I see, and nice big chunks of walnuts... and I agree that 'plenty of cinnamon' is the perfect quantity!!! That frosting looks exactly the way my grandmother used to make it... and then as a child I'd lick the plate clean once the cake was gone. Eek... way too much sugar as a child but none as an adult so all is ok hehe! Thanks for your entry, and good luck!

Sort:  

Thank you for all the compliments and meaningful comments @woman-onthe-wing. It is such a delicious cake and yes I know - way too much sugar. I have such a sweet tooth and as I'm getting older, I realise that I need to lower my sugar intake. I also love cinnamon. Your message has encouraged me to slow down on the sugar and create recipes with much less sugar from now on. Have followed you so I can check out your delicious healthy recipes

That makes me soooo happy to hear @pandamama! Most people don't realise just how harmful processed sugar is for your body... rotten teeth and a few extra pounds are the least of our worries. I don't want to preach, but I do believe that we ought to know exactly what the effects are when we consume something... and if we choose to still eat it then hey, at least no-one can accuse us of being ignorant! My diet used to be terrible.. but my teeth were perfect and my waist was small! Now I don't eat sugar at all, not one bit. Only natural sugars that our bodies can handle, and actually after a while of experimenting with natural sweetners, we soon find out there's no need for processed sugar at all! You'll notice most recipes posted on steemit use healthy all natural ingredients. If ever you've come across a site called Wellness Mama, this is an excellent source of information... and she's written a piece explaining all you need to know about sugar ...if you're interested :-) All the best to you @pandamama in your journey-to-less-sugar-consumption! And in the new year I'll be launching my new project "Make It Healthy" you might be interested in.

I'll definitely be interested in your new project "Make it Healthy" My one son is very health conscious and he'll be so happy if I cut down on my sugar consumption. I will look up Wellness Mama - I have followed you - so look forward to your articles

Groovy! And I look forward to chatting more to you as no doubt we will! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62487.83
ETH 3340.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46