Homemade Healthy Snacks Series - #6 Apple Crumble Crunchy Slices - An Original Recipe

in #food8 years ago

Another spontaneous creation!  Soft on the inside, crunchy on the outside, bite-size apple crumble slices -  delicious!



What you will need:


2 apples, any variety

100g bran flakes/corn flakes

1 tblsp cinnamon

15g butter

4 tblsp honey


Method:


In a large bowl, crush the bran/corn flakes with a rolling pin or something similar



Add the cinnamon to the crushed flakes and mix in 



In another bowl, melt the butter and stir in the honey



Peel, core and slice the apples



Dip the apple slices first in the butter & honey mixture, then press both sides into the crushed flakes.  Lay the slices on a baking tray



Bake at 180 degrees Celcius for 25 minutes.  When they first come out the oven they will feel soft to touch, but the outside will crisp up as they cool.  Leave on the tray to cool, then use a metal spatula to lift them off the tray and transfer to a plate or container



And there you have it, another easy snack.  Enjoy!



If you enjoyed this post, please follow me for more yummy and healthy recipes!


Many thanks.


For extra tips on health, weight loss & food you can also support me as Natural Health Mama at: https://www.facebook.com/naturalhealthmamma and https://naturalhealthmamablog.wordpress.com/  


Logo kindly created for me by @papa-pepper


Sort:  

You are most welcome @cynetyc. Thank you too!

Come on, bring it on the table. Lets talk and eat a while.

Thank you for leaving a comment on my post @woman-onthe-wing
I wanted to see what you shared and then this... this recipe!

where have you been all my life?

Ha ha. I've been hiding in the shadows along with the rest of the quiet & odd types :-)

another amazing idea. I feel like I say that with all of your posts these days

Ha, you and me both! I'm glad we bumped into each other on Steemit and can drool over each other's delicious looking recipes!

That looks amazing!

Thank you, they are soooo good!

Beautiful presentation and perfect timing with fresh apples abound :) followed you I like your stylee

Thanks so much! I like creating things :-)

These look fabulous. Sadly I can't eat grains of any kinds, and I know many others who can't. But I thought of a way to adapt them to be grain free:

  • Replace the flakes with finely ground nuts, or
  • Replace them with desiccated coconut (I think this version would be best)
    My next whole food menu post is going to be Snacks, so I'll share this recipe there (if that's ok) and hopefully you'll get some new followers.

Good idea, experimenting is the best bit! I wonder though would dessicated coconut crisp up enough? The apple stays soft so a real crunchy outside is key. I have never used it this way though so you might know better than me. Ground nuts would work I think. You've got me pondering other alternatives now! And yes, of course it's fine to share this recipe, and adapt if you wish, I don't mind at all. I just want people to be eating healthy snacks rather than horrible harmful ones!!! Thanks very much

Made these for the school lunch boxes, I don't know why but I did one with the cornflakes in the size you have shown here, then for some reason I went and blitz the crumbs, so they looked like biscuit crumbs, then with the leftovers of melted butter and honey added the cornflake crumbs and made 3 biscuits, leaving them in for 20mins the biscuits where very hard, but nice, next time I might make a batch of biscuits like this without turning them hard.
Loving the options without adding sugar.
Thank you so much for all your recipes @woman-onthe-wing

Good idea, very creative! Thanks so much for your feedback, you've made my day!

Hey again @biglipsmama - I've just seen that you re-steemed some of my recipes... thank you!

Easy for me to find when we want to bake .

If you have any feedback or suggestions for improvements at any time, please feel free to say so! Thanks very much for your support :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63635.72
ETH 2597.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91