Homemade Healthy Snacks Series - #10 Carrot & Ginger Wholewheat Scones - An Original Recipe

in #food8 years ago


I always loved wholewheat scones, but today I decided to be a bit more creative and try a new idea, and I'm so pleased to report that it worked out really well!  Not only do the carrot and ginger add a lovely flavour, but the carrot ensures the scones are nice and moist.  These are soooo yummy fresh out the oven with butter or a little bit of honey.  They are also quick and easy to make, keep fresh for 3-4 days, and would be an ideal sugar-free snack to add to your children's lunchboxes.


What you will need: (Makes 8)


250g fine wholewheat flour  

75g butter  

2 tblsp ginger  

1 tsp bicarb of soda  

1 large or 2 small carrots  

180ml milk  


Method:


In a large bowl add the butter to the flour and, using your fingertips, rub the butter into the flour until it resembles fine breadcrumbs 



Mix in the ginger and bicarbonate of soda



Peel and finely grate the carrots, add to the bowl and mix well 



Pour in the milk and mix in (I use my hands), kneading to form a firm dough 



In your hands shape into rounds and place onto a baking tray, and brush with milk or milk & egg mixture for a golden top 



Bake in a preheated oven at 210 degrees Celcius for 20 minutes, then allow to cool on a wire rack



Enjoy with butter or honey for a tasty yet healthy snack! 



If you enjoyed this recipe, please follow me and you can look forward to more yummy and healthy recipes!    

Many thanks.  


For extra tips on health, weight loss & information about natural foods you can also support me as Natural Health Mama at: https://www.facebook.com/naturalhealthmamma and https://naturalhealthmamablog.wordpress.com/ 


Logo kindly created for me by @papa-pepper


Sort:  

These look amazingly delicious!

Oh yes they are very tasty! Sometimes my experiments don't work at all, but when they do I am well happy! :-)

The picture with butter killed it!!! Wow! Upvoted and will try it for sure, thanks :-) Best regards from Canary Islands

Thanks so much :-) They are so good fresh out the oven with butter just melting...Mmmmmmm!

My 9 year old, made these and some of your other recipes, they are so yummy.
They are easy enough for the kids to do, and enjoy them without the added sugar loads.

I'm so happy to hear that, thank you for letting me know!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3154.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86