Homemade Healthy Snacks - #9 No Sugar Apple & Ginger Oat Cookies - An Original Recipe

in #food8 years ago


Cookies with a kick!  Anything with ginger on a chilly day is a bit of welcome warmth, and I think these are lovely mid-afternoon with a nice hot cup of green tea.  Again, no sugar, just the natural sweetness of apples and honey, so perfect for curing those sweet-tooth cravings without giving into that evil temptress sugar!


Ginger is a wonderful medicinal spice, a powerful antioxidant and anti-inflammatory.  It's used to treat cold and flu, to treat digestive discomfort, helps ease toothache, help ease muscle and joint pain & stiffness, lowers blood sugar levels, aids heart health, improves circulation, helps treat acid reflux and nausea (including morning sickness), helps ease PMS cramping, helps fight infections, and contains 6-gingerol which is said to help prevent cancer when taken regularly.


What you will need: (Makes about 24) 


100g butter  

2 apples  

5 tblsp honey  

1 tsp bicarb of soda  

3 tblsp ground ginger  

1 tsp cinnamon  

100g fine wholewheat flour  

100g porridge oats  


Method:

Peel, core and finely grate the apples



In a large bowl mix together the grated apple, butter and honey



Add the flour, ginger, cinnamon and bicarb of soda, and mix  
 



Add the oats and mix thoroughly until you have a nice sticky mixture 



In your hands, form into flattened rounds and place onto un-greased baking trays 



Bake in a preheated oven at 180 degrees Celcius for 20 minutes, then allow to cool on a wire rack



If you enjoyed this recipe, please follow me and you can look forward to more yummy and healthy recipes!   

Many thanks. 


For extra tips on health, weight loss & information about natural foods you can also support me as Natural Health Mama at: https://www.facebook.com/naturalhealthmamma and https://naturalhealthmamablog.wordpress.com/ 


Logo kindly created for me by @papa-pepper

Sort:  

Awesome post, I can clearly see tons of effort, great pics, great content. Keep on Steeming ON! And yes, I will have to try these. I have tried to post in the evening EST and I have had bad results. My goal is to only post in the mornings somewhere between 10 and 11.30 EST. That is what has seemed to work the best. Who knows, it's all one big experiment.

It's so hard to know what time is best to post! I post in the evenings around 9pm GMT as that's when my baby is usually asleep by! I'd love to post more than once a day but it's just not do-able at the moment. At least yours are so eye-catching and always sound so yummy that it's difficult to miss them!

I understand totally, dealing with the baby. At the moment, my older sister and her husband are parents to my first nephew, and she is very, very occupied. Whatever encouragement I can give you, keep on fighting the good fight. Steem On!

Ginger, apple and honey....I can hardly wait to try these! The pictures are lovely. :)

Thank you :-) I used to stuff myself with sugary treats every evening, but when you stop eating sugar then using things like honey makes things sweet enough. I hope you enjoy them!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60788.02
ETH 2632.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63