Beetroot, Black Grape & Black Bean Curry, Served with Kamut - An Original Recipe (Vegetarian)

in #food7 years ago


I adore curries - there's so many flavour, texture and colour options, and you can use all kinds of vegetables/fruit that you don't know what else to do with!  I had a huge bunch of black grapes I wasn't sure how to use before they past their best, so I put on my thinking cap.  After a while I realised that grapes aren't so different to tomatoes really, and so I wondered could I make a curry with them?  And the answer is a resounding YES!  Grapes are good for curries y'all - I can now confirm this!  Obviously grapes are pretty high in natural sugars so you wouldn't want to be eating grape curries all the time, but as an occasional meal there's no problems at all.


Curries are also a fantastic way to get vegetables into children, well, as long as they enjoy spicy food that is!  Luckily my 22-month-old likes nothing more than a mouthful of something spicy, so he is in no way lacking good vegetable nutrition.  You can use things your children wouldn't normally eat, such as sprouts, kale, turnip, whatever, and they would never even know.  I had a broccoli stalk and a couple of halves of peppers I wanted to use up, and so I just minced them up along with the other veg.  No need to waste valuable veggies!


Ingredients:


200g red lentils

200g beetroot

200g carrots

1/2 red pepper

1/2 yellow pepper

Broccoli stalk

2 red onions

1 bulb garlic

400g black grapes

200ml water

400ml coconut milk

Handful fresh cilantro or 1 tblsp dried cilantro leaf

2 tsp salt

1 tblsp black pepper

1 tblsp cumin

1 tblsp cayenne pepper

1 tblsp paprika

1 tsp garam masala

1 tblsp curry powder

400g can of black beans


Method:


In a saucepan cover the lentils with cold water, bring to the boil, and let simmer for 15 minutes until softened.  Drain and set aside.



Peel and roughly dice the beetroot, carrots, peppers, broccoli stalk, onions and garlic, then mince them all in a food processor.



Heat 1 tblsp of coconut oil in a large frying pan and add the minced vegetables.  Saute for 10 minutes until the veg has softened.



Remove the pits from the larger grapes (unless they have already been pitted), and put into a blender with 200ml water.



Add the grapes and lentils to the frying pan and mix in.  I love watching the red colour become more intense with every stir!



Add the herbs & spices and the coconut milk, and let simmer for 20-30 minutes until reduced to a nice thickness.



Rinse the black beans and add to the curry, and continue to heat for a further 10 minutes.  (Ensure the beans are piping hot before serving)



Serve with the grain of your choice... I used kamut and it worked beautifully alongside the curry.  



Another evening I served it with brown basmati rice cooked with turmeric, and so made the meal really striking!



You can also portion the left-overs into jars and pop in the freezer for future meals.



For healthy vegetarian, sugar-free, additive-free recipes for  meals and snacks, and the Steemit Culinary Challenge, please follow me!     
 

Many thanks.
 

For extra tips on health for you and your family, can also support me as Natural Health Mama at: https://www.facebook.com/naturalhealthmamma and https://naturalhealthmamablog.wordpress.com/
 

All photos in this post are my own original, taken with my Fujifilm Finepix S8200. 



Sort:  

This is such an interesting recipe. Never would have thought about adding the grapes. Great job @woman-onthe-wing

Thanks very much @vegetarianbaker! I try my best to be inventive and interesting!

Here comes the super creative woman of steemit! Really impressed by the usage of grapes in curry instead of tomatoes! Really a great idea you shared out here!
Cheers
@progressivechef

I really appreciate that @progressivechef, thanks very much! I have a habit of buying fruit & veg before I've even thought what to do with it, then I usually end up having to get inventive with something before it spoils!

Same here @woman-onthe-wing, the inspiration comes quite late for me!

Great recipe and it looks absolutely delicious. Though not a vegetarian, I love vegetables and pulses. Your recipe just hits the spot. The addition of grapes with the beetroot is inspired. Thank you. :)X

Thanks so much for your kind words @allaboutpastries :-) I try to share recipes I think will appeal to meat-eaters too, and that 'celebrate' the plants in all their glory!

This one certainly should. It looks delicious. :)X

Very nice recipe full of colorful recipe

This looks absolutely amazing!! The black bean and curry must be just phenomenal.

Thanks so much @noboxes, yes it was one of the tastiest curries I've ever made!

Beautiful presentation. Your photography is fantastic. I can't wait to try this. My Mom and my older sister ( @uglysweater ) are huge curry fans and my Dad ( @noboxes ) loves black beans, and deep down he likes curry, he just won't admit it.

Is that some kind of patriotic thing, not admitting to liking 'foreign' food? :-) I didn't realise @uglysweater was your sister, but really enjoy her blog full of positivity and love and light! Thanks so much for your compliments @gringalicious, I'm always delighted when you think my food looks good!

Oh no, my Dad is no respecter of borders. I think it is just something that he said he didn't like for so many years that he just hasn't admitted yet that he was wrong, or maybe that his tastes have changed.

I see! I know a few people like that myself... :-)

Looks delish!!!

Oh @realmeandi, it really was!!! Thank you!

A recipe full of color, healthy, full of vitamins and minerals. The pictures make us try the recipe 😊

Thank you @allesia! I like to feed only good things into my body, and try to make my meals as visually attractive as possible :-)

WOW.... I have try it :)

Thanks @foxkoit, and if you do I really hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

Thank you!! And soon :)

That looks just fantastic! The colour!! Omg making me drool lol im getting a new camera this week so here's hoping I can finally keep up with my fellow steemians photography skills!! Thank you for sharing your yummy curry

A new camera, that's super exciting! Makes all the difference when showing off your food doesn't it! Thanks very much for your comment and enthusiasm @ch00fy :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83