Kimchi Making South Korea | South Korea Travel

in #food6 years ago (edited)

"Kimchi"

VID_20151229_111523_1.gif

While this Kimchi becomes favorite to many, we probably don't know yet about its benefits and how is this being made. Kimchi is a traditional Korean dish made with seasoned vegetables and salt. Koreans eat it at nearly every meal. Like 3 times a day. It can be fresh, like a salad, or it can be fermented. While the most popular variety is spicy kimchi made of cabbage, there are hundreds of different types of kimchi made of different vegetables, and not all of them are spicy.

Kimchi has been so popular worldwide nowadays. When I was in the Philippines, this was always on my bucket list to witness on how the Korean people make it. Most Filipinos probably know this since it has been well known in the Philippines as well.

South Korea is like a second home country to me. This is a beautiful country with beautiful people. I have a lot of friends in this country where I can easily come to.

In my latest visit to Seoul South Korea and as my 3rd visit, I have witnessed on how they make their Kimchi. A Permented Kimchi. Here are some photos I took while looking at them making it.

I was really honored to be invited by these wonderful people to show me how they make their homemade Kimchi. From preparation to processing until fermentation.

First they prepare all the ingredients they need as follows,

  • Cabbage (sliced)
  • Water
  • Salt
  • Radish (cut into sticks)
  • Garlic
  • Ginger
  • Korean Red Pepper
  • Sugar
  • Nori sheet
  • And some more which I forgot the names.

After they prepare all the Ingredients they need, they put the sliced cabbages in a big bowl. The cabbage was pre-dried. After they put the cabbages in a bowl, they poured some salt to it and gently mixed them together.
While in the other bowl, they mixed together all the remaining ingredients (Sliced radish, garlic, ginger, korean red pepper, sugar, nori sheets and others) as seen at the right picture above. They use gloves while doing the process yeah ^_^. After they mix the ingredients, they start pouring it into the bigger bowl where the pre-seasoned cabbages are and gently mix together and rub it.

IMG_20151229_112027.jpg

When the mixing was done, they put it to the jars and cover it. According to the elders, it should stay there for seasoning overnight and or 24 hours. After 24 hours they need to check it again and open to release the gas accumulated inside the jars and that's the time to instore them to a fridge for a couple weeks or months before they eat it. The longer it is stored as fermentation the tastier it will become.

When you visit some Korean houses, you will notice their fridges full of kimchi stored and if not, at least it has kimchi inside as it is part of their daily side dish.

Kimchi is loaded with vitamins A, B, and C, but its biggest benefit may be in its "healthy bacteria" called lactobacilli, found in fermented foods like kimchi and yogurt. But the good side of it is that, according to some studies, fermented cabbage has compounds that may prevent the growth of cancer. Well actually I have noticed that most of the Korean people are healthyand the have beautiful skin.

IMG_20151229_105001.jpg

This is one of the beautiful elders who took care of me and shown me how they make their homemade Kimchi :)
More than witnessing their Kimchi making, their hospitality, and love to their visitors was the most amazing thing I really enjoyed. They are one of the best people I've met! I love them!!!!

I hope you guys enjoyed it!

Until my next blog Steemians! More Korea trip blogs coming.

Thank you

#taclobanph Family
#steemitpowerupph #steemgigs
#steemitfamilyph #untalented
#cryptoempire #kryptonia
#photography

Join us at #Kryptonia
Register in Kryptonia for your free account and free coins to start.

support minnow smile!.png
20180329_020320_edited_1.gif

Thank you for all the supports!
@wilsonblue5

Sort:  

i love cabbage...i think it tastes good...i want to try it..😊

It taste really good and nutritious @jezzel90.
You should make your own and store on your fridge. Why not! Haha

I am glad to see this post about kimchi! And you are living virginia!? Me, too! I am a steemer writing about Korea food recipe^^To Korean, kimchi is really useful for making food! I like your post, I will vote and follow you^^ If you don't mind, visit my blog!^^ Have a nice day:-D

안녕하세요 @eunjjn!
Thank you for dropping by. Yes I am living is West Virginia now but I am from the Philippines. I love Kimchi as much as I love Korea. Where are you in Virginia?
Will visit your blog.

Hello~!! Do you Kkmchi and Korea? It is my pleasure to hear that!!!! I like Philippines, too. I have been to Philippine twice, Mindanao island, Cebu!! And I wand to visit Boracay that is closed now for environmental problem,, I am living in williamsburg, VA ^^ Nice you to meet you^^ I hope we keep in touch !

Nice to hear that you've been to Philippines. What did you do in the Philippines? Mission? I live in Eastern Visayas in Tacloban just near from Cebu City :)

Glad to meet you here. You may reach me on my kakao ID @wilson0906 we can communicate there and maybe share your posts so I can visit it time to time.
Have a good day @eunjjn!

Philippine is very famous travel place for Korean, especially like Manila, Cebu, Boracay, Bohol. Because these days the new president blocked the Boracay island for environment, many Korean are so sorry about that. My first trip for mission through my church, next is for only trip in Cebu! I like the city! I like Philippine mango and mangosteen ! I will contact you in kakao!

That is cool @eunjjn! Yeah a lot of korean people in the Philippines. Boracay will be close temporarily to make it more beautiful after 6 months it will be open to all tourists again😉
I have some friends from korea CCC who visit our province every year for mission. Do you know about Korea campus crusade?

Reaally?!?!? I am so glad to hear that! ! I absolutely know about CCC! I joined CCC when I was a college student!! And I was a leader for CCC in my campus!! ^^ And I met my husband in CCC as a member, too^^ Nice to meet you !!!!!!!!!!! Is there CCC in Philippine? So, you are a christian? What do you do in USA?

As I suspected you really is a CCC member:)
Yes I am😁 I am a CCC since college and become Volunteer staff after graduate. CCC Samcheok goes to Tacloban Philippines in our place every year for short mission and we work together. Now I live in the US with my wife just last year.
Nice to meet you here. 🤗🤗🤗

Ohh my, im craving for kimchi right now after reading your post. I love to eat kimchi but it is difficult to find. Upvoted, commented and resteemed by rubelynmacion of krypto

Thank you @rubelynmacion! Yeah it is difficult to find but not in Korea. It is everywhere there hahaha some of them even have their fridge full of Kimchi in different types.

Haven't tasted this one yet. I only saw kimchi in Kdramas Im watching. 😄 Hope to see and taste them for real. 😁

Haha masarap yan na ma anghang. Medyo werdo ang lasa sa umpisa pero magugustohan mo for sure.

from the view of it ,, it looks yummy from kryptonia @everdope

Thank you! It really taste good @awosode

Thank you @ itsmejayvee. Kimchi is really yummy and good. Just spicy but really good!

Now im curious for that kimchi food i've notice everybody love that recipes :)

You should try it sis! It tastes good pero spicy.

Nice one keep it up. Kryptonia id @chetachi26

Kimchi offers many benefits such as smooth digestion, lower risk of diabetes..

Yes it is @caydenshan! That is why many people like it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14