Sugar and Spice and Everything Nice - Sugar and Scribe Bakery and Fine Food La Jolla, California - Review

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemers

Do I have a treat for you all!

I have been wanting to find a little out of the ordinary bakery for a while and try something new. So what did I do - I went online and came across a few. After umming and aring a lot I sat on it. Then I decided to watch the FoodNetwork - I love baking and watching baking shows and all the creativity of the finished product. Well who should I see but the owner (Maeve Rochford) of a bakery I have been wanting to visit on one of the competitive baking shows! Holiday Baking Championship! She won the competition and so I had to make a trip to see her in person and her creations! And I did.....

Here I introduce you to Sugar and Scribe Bakery and Fine Food La Jolla!

For those who are not familiar with La Jolla it is a seaside town in San Diego, California. Now it's not just any seaside town. It has a population of about 50000 residents and is one of the wealthiest enclaves in the country. It is surrounded by ocean bluffs and beaches. In terms of scenery it is pretty stunning. It does feel a little congested in areas and the traffic can be fierce. And let's not talk about parking in peak times! But putting that aside, with a bit of planning - there is so much to do, go to Seal beach and see the seals close up, La Jolla Cove, whale watching (in season) and there are eateries galore, clothing shops - everything! Streets showcasing different restaurants, beautiful window dressings and beach just a stone throw away. If you are more intellectual Salk Institute for Biological Studies and the Scripps Institution of Oceanography are at your doorstep! Torrey Pines National Park is not far and of course the world famous Torrey Pines golf course!

But I digress....look at my little find.....

fullsizeoutput_28f.jpeg

We became Sugar Scribes upon entry!!!!!!

fullsizeoutput_28e.jpeg

And here is the Food Network Champion herself - Maeve Rochford - she booked our table and settled us in....

IMG_6652.JPG

While we were waiting for our table I could not wait to pop inside the Sugar and Scribe delectable factory to take a look around...let me show you...

fullsizeoutput_27a.jpeg

IMG_6654.JPG

fullsizeoutput_26c.jpeg

Look at the goodies! I can tell you I was in sweet heaven ... I was....

IMG_6658.JPG

There was even something for the pooches....delightful!

fullsizeoutput_260.jpeg

fullsizeoutput_262.jpeg

fullsizeoutput_25d.jpeg

fullsizeoutput_25e.jpeg

fullsizeoutput_25f.jpeg

There weren't any mince pies left!

fullsizeoutput_26b.jpeg

Nothing like homemade marshmallows...

fullsizeoutput_271.jpeg

Give me strength .... inni miny miney mo...which to choose?

fullsizeoutput_268.jpeg

fullsizeoutput_263.jpeg

Coffee anyone? Wait until I show the menu and the choices ...by the way...any syrups they use for flavoring are made in house!!!! Oh yes...I was so happy to hear that...and as you will see I was adventurous in my choice... keep scrolling and drooling...

fullsizeoutput_264.jpeg

Check out the menu...

fullsizeoutput_266.jpeg

fullsizeoutput_26f.jpeg

fullsizeoutput_279.jpeg

fullsizeoutput_272.jpeg

Now according to Maeve Rochford the key to the deliciousness of her products are the ingredients. And I have to agree with her. My Mother always told me (she is a chef by the way!) that the key to any dish and the flavors are the fresh ingredients. So now Maeve uses Irish butter which she says is hands down the best for baking (Finlandia).

fullsizeoutput_290.jpeg

Go back to the menu - what did I order? There was so much choice at first I wanted a Cafe Ireland, then I changed my mind .... I got a Decaf Cappucino with coconut flavor and whipped cream on the side. Yup .... I splashed out and went against convention - any Italian would scoff at me I can tell you. This is an egregious choice for coffee connoisseurs. :). But I have never been one to follow convention. This is the right place to be - Maeve puts her own creative spin on all sorts of dishes andbaking goods - this makes Sugar and Scribe so Irishly unique!

fullsizeoutput_275.jpeg

IMG_6688.JPG

fullsizeoutput_26e.jpeg

I glutton was not done ..... oh no... it was not complete without breakfast fare so I ordered the House Benedict (they do have gluten free options)! It was scrumptious!

fullsizeoutput_26e.jpeg

fullsizeoutput_278.jpeg

I had such a great time... if you are in San Diego you must check out La Jolla and Sugar and Scribe Bakery and Fine Food!

My experience was complete.

IMG_6691.JPG

Sources:-
http://sugarandscribe.com
http://www.coastalliving.com/travel/top-10/2013-happiest-seaside-towns/la-jolla-california

Sort:  

Looks like you had a great meal. Have you tried posting a link in Steemit.chat or the various Steemit Facebook groups?

I did! No I haven't - thanks I will try that!

There are many rooms there. You need to join them and then send the link to your post. You have to post the image separately on steemit.chat but on Facebook it does it automatically!

Thanks! I need more exposure so this is great!

You can post your link every 2 hours in steemit.chat When you up vote other members let them know right in the chat sight. It takes time in the beginning but members will get to know you.

I joined the groups on FB! Ok thanks so much. Sometimes its disheartening when you put so much into the article and you get no votes. But I understand it takes time. I am loving it. I love photography and to write.

There are many groups on FB so post in various ones. Steemit.chat is even better. I started the same way as you. You'll get there!

Thanks for your support! I appreciate it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59484.75
ETH 2614.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41