3 Ingredient Chocolate

in #food6 years ago

CHO22.jpg

BARK5.jpg


HUMANS OF THE INTERWEBS! I DON'T USUALLY YELL IN TEXT BUT THIS IS IMPORTANT!

THREE. INGREDIENT. CHOCOLATE.

AAAAND IT'S GOOD FOR YOU!*
It's Paleo, Vegan and Gluten free- no animals or wheat has to die to make your chocolately dreams come true!
( *Subject to sweetener used, there's always a catch.) Substituting the honey for Agave nectar even makes it sugar free, and if using virgin coconut oil, the natural sweetness and aroma masks any unpleasant sweetener. We're winning everywhere today!

I found this little gem of a recipe on Pinterest, here by rockstar blogger Melissa King.


CHO3.jpg


To make 3 scrumptuous chocolate bars, all you need is:

  • 1/4 Cup Coconut Oil
  • 1/4 Cup Cocao Powder
  • 8 Tbsp Maple Syrup or Honey.

All you have to do is melt the coconut oil and stir in the syrup and cocao powder, then chuck 'em in a mold and let them set in the freezer.

20 minutes to deliciousness? ''Impossible!'' I exclaimed.

It looked too good to be true. I had all the ingredients.

I had to try it.

Ladles and jellyspoons, twas not impossible. Twas entirely possible, and IT. WAS. DELICIOUS! (Hooraaay for Melissa King, I love you!)

So obviously, I had to see what I could change....

This stuff is pretty resilient. I added salt:YUM! Nuts: Double Yum! All the other things I could find in my pantry: Winning Every Time!

Then I found cacao butter.

I don't think I could go back to normal chocolate. Smooth, just sweet enough. The satisfying crack of chocolate but instant melting the second it touches your tongue. This stuff should be illegal, y'all.

Now I'ma teach ya how to make my version:

  1. First off: Quadruple the batch. Life is too short to only make 3 chocolate bars.

CHO11.jpg

CHO13.jpg

CHO14.jpg

CHO15.jpg


Ingredients:

  • 3/4 Cup Coconut oil (use virgin for the nom coconut flavour)
  • 1/4 Cup Cacao Butter (you can omit this an use only coconut oil)
  • 1 Cup Cacao Powder
  • 1/4 Cup Honey (Maple Syrup, Agave, Golden Syrup or any other liquid sweetener will work here. Adjust to taste, I like mine a little on the bitter side)
  • Pinch of Salt

CHO4.jpg

CHO9.jpg


Things to put inside

Get creative here! I used what I had and added them in rows so every bite is a different experience

  • 50gr Mixed Nuts
  • 50gr Cornflakes
  • 50gr Dessicated Coconut
  • Mixed raisins, sultanas and currants
  • More Salt on top! (I used pink Himalayan, because that's what I had. Maldon Flakes would be glorious here!)

CHO16.jpg

CHO19.jpg

CHO21.jpg


Method:
  1. Melt coconut oil, cacao butter and honey (or sweetener of choice) in the microwave on high in 30 second increments until just melted.
  2. Add cacao powder and stir until smooth (no need to sift. It's so ferking easy!)
  3. Pour into silicone sweety molds, and add in the goodies (nuts and such) or pour bits onto a silicone mat (you can use a greased baking pan but it's so much easier in silicone) and smother with chocolate mix.
  4. Place in Freezer to set for 15minutes, or in the fridge for 30. I find the texture is best if frozen and now have a lovely baggie of chocolate love in my freezer at all times. I can only wish the same for you.
  5. Unmold and crack into bits if using a sili-mat, or get the individual things out from their molds and store in a freezer-safe container for up to a YEAR! CHOCOLATE FOREVER! (We aren't kidding anyone though, no way it'll stay in there more than a week.)
  6. Don't tell anyone you made them. Keep them to yourself and give them a recipe so they can make their own.
Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-25T13:26:18
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 84.50/100.00
Total Photos: 13
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63122.96
ETH 2686.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57