You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: These Strawberry Fields Don't Go On Forever

in #food7 years ago

I've been so busy that I haven't read your lovely posts in awhile! Interesting about the dwarf strawberries due to the cold weather. They do look delicious, though! We get unbelievably awesome organic strawberries from California, red all the way, juicy and sweet smelling. The whole family loves them. When the price is low I buy extra and freeze for smoothies.

There is not a U-Pick farm close by for strawberries. We are attempting to grow native blackberries in our garden. No luck, yet. I think it's the 100 plus degree temperatures. But, you'd think if they're native they would be used that?

Interesting post as always. I hope you and your family had a fun vacation.

Sort:  

Oh yummy! Strawberries are totally the best and I hear yah about stocking up, especially for smoothies!

My grandma lives in Western Washington and they have an incredible amount of blackberries there, so I am pretty spoiled in the blackberry department, but my favorite are the wild native berries, they take forever to pick a sizeable amount, but OH MY YUM! I sure hope you get a yield off of yours eventually, for you would think the native plants would take the heat so to speak!

Good to hear from you, I hope you are staying somewhat cool and enjoying your summer!!!

Wild blueberries are amazing. I grew up in Maine and we would go blueberry picking in the summer. Maine is known for its wild blueberries. It sounds like the native wild blueberries in Washington are similar to Maine's.

Thank you. I'm having a great summer. Everything slows way down in Tucson during the summer. It's nice! I hope you're enjoying the summer, too. Hard to believe that the $th is next week.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57960.12
ETH 2482.73
SOL 155.31
SBD 2.43