My secret "crêpe" recipe

in #food7 years ago

Crêpes are a thing at our house. Not sure how this family tradition started but I've been making these large thin French pancakes for the kiddos almost every morning for the past 6 years...which means I could probably rival the crepe street vendors in Paris at this point.

P1010417.JPG

I have to say, no matter how tired or in a hurry I am, I always put a lot love into making them because my kids ADORE them. You can omit the orange blossom water and you'll get great classic crêpes. I always add it though because it brings them to another level of delicious where you don't even need to add anything on them.

My kids either have them "nature", straight off the pan or with a smear of Nutella. My husband likes dusting them with sugar and adding a squeeze of lemon before he rolls 'em up. Careful, they'll be gone faster than you can make them.

Note : Getting the texture right depends a lot on the flour you use as well as the quantity of milk. You need to make sure the batter is quite liquid - probably more than you think - somewhat like drinkable yogurt. I've given an indication of the quantity of milk but feel free to adjust until you get the right texture.

Other note : This is probably one of the only recipes on my site where you will see sugar as an ingredient - I have tried substituting it for something else but my kids always notice a "funny taste" so I've left it.

Makes 6 9-inch crêpes

Ingredients

  • 1 cup Bob Redmill's gluten free flour (I have tried other gluten free ones and they've been horrible...if you don't mind gluten, just use normal flour)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/4 cups milk
  • 1/4 cup of melted butter (ghee also works)
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • a pinch salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tbsp orange blossom water

Instructions

  1. Put the flour in a big bowl and break in the egg
  2. On one side of the bowl, start whisking the egg and half the flour (not all otherwise you will get a crumbly mixture) until it turns into a smooth paste
  3. Gradually add some milk on that side of the bowl, the paste will become more liquid. Gradually incorporate some of the non-mixed flour and always make sure you have a smooth paste before you add more milk. Add more milk, again incorporate more flour until the mixture is smooth and so on until you have no more milk or flour left.
  4. Add vanilla, orange blossom water, sugar, melted butter and beat thoroughly.
  5. Let rest for an hour - and up to 12 if using gluten free flour or up to 24 if using regular flour
  6. Take a non-stick 9-inch pan and put on medium high heat
  7. Take a laddle of the crêpe batter and pour it into the pan, turning the pan up, down and sideways really quickly to cover it with the batter. The crêpe shouldn't be more than a few millimeters thick.
  8. Once the sides start browning slightly, loosen all sides making sure it doesn't stick anywhere and then flip it
  9. Repeat until you have no more batter

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66533.06
ETH 3491.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71