Purple Magic

in #food7 years ago

Let me share with you a treat which is considered as one of the Christmas delicacies here in our country. This Purple treat is called Puto Bumbong. This is glutinous rice steamed in a bamboo tube.


1.jpg

Though in some places this can only be bought during Christmas season. Here in our city it can be enjoyed all year round. This stall has been around since I was a kid as far as I can remember.

2.JPG

The origin of Puto Bumbong dates back from the Spanish colonial era.After early morning mass people eat this treat for breakfast along with ginger tea as told by my aunt.

There are two types of Puto Bumbong which I did not realize until now thru my research. The most common recipe which can be found easily is made from Glutinous rice flour and mixed with food coloring or purple yam powder to give it's purple color.

Now the original recipe is made from black rice called Pirurutong rice. This is what gives the authentic purple color of the Puto Bumbong. This original recipe is something I would need to search for as I would like to experience the authentic taste of the Puto Bumbong.

3.JPG

This is the steamer where the treat is cooked. The bamboo tube is filled with the Glutinous rice flour and steamed for around 3 to 5 minutes. The bamboo tube is wrapped in cloth for easy handling.

4.JPG

5.JPG

Once it is cooked margarine is spread over and topped with grated coconut, sugar and sesame seeds.

6.JPG

7.JPG

8.JPG

Now the best part which is eating the treat with my daughter @bearkid. Once she senses were are going out for a snack is is always ready no matter what.

9.1.JPG

9.JPG

10.JPG

We also had some for take out in case someone has the munchies for a late night snack. Thanks for joining me today and hope you enjoyed reading about one of our tasty Filipino treats. Cheers Steemian.

11.JPG


Please vote @steemgigs as witness and help support @surpassinggoogle

Taken with Lumix GX85

Snake new.jpg

Sort:  

just wondering... why purple? (1am thoughts). damn! you make me hungry....

Yep wondered as well. We love purple 😊

Never seen anything like this it looks so interesting

Thank you. It's a yummy treat as well 😃

Your welcome

It sounds tasty :)

I just ate 2 for breakfast. yum yum

That sounds delicious! I would love to try it! Great photos!

Thanks Melinda. If ever you visit I'll be your guide lol.

That's so nice of you to offer! And that would be so much fun! My travel is quite limited these days, as much as I would love to be going all over the world, I will be staying close to home.

Black rice turns into purple colour... I think maybe it's the same like one of our Chinese sweet soup - Black glutinous rice sweet soup.

Yes probably the same rice. Pretty cool as we do not have much food in purple color. I'd love to see your purple soup. 😊

I seldom have the soup. But I do love this dessert, especially with lots of coconut milk added... Here's one of the Youtube video showing how to make this dessert.

Aww that looks delicious and the ingredients are easy to get.

Yes. Maybe you can make your own purple soup now... 😉😁

oh man that looks and sounds amazing. I love purple and haven't encountered a purple rice dish before - very cool that this exists, and I'll have to figure out how I can get my hands on some... Thanks for sharing!

Visit the Philippines my treat for the purple treat 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63683.34
ETH 2754.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64