The Medicinal Gourmet Cooking Collective: Spiced Coconut Rice Pudding

in #food6 years ago (edited)

IMG_6994.jpg

The challenge this week from @eco-alex for The Medicinal Gourmet Cooking Collective is to focus on cooking food that supports the health of our lungs and large intestine.

I found this weeks challenge to be a tough one. For some reason I found the metal element confusing and limiting at first. I walked around the garden looking for white and all I came up with was potatoes. We had mashed potatoes spiced with herbs for dinner but I piled it high with colourful roasted vegetables which didn't meet the metal/lungs challenge.

I decided that I would focus on a dessert instead.

Foods that suit the metal element are best cooked a bit longer and slower on a low heat. The lungs benefit from warm (not hot) fragrance and spice.

I noticed a jar of cooked rice in the fridge and spiced coconut rice pudding came to mind as the perfect dish. It incorporates many components favourable to lung health.

IMG_6981.jpg

Spiced Coconut Rice Pudding

Ingredients

3 cups cooked organic white rice
1 can coconut milk
3 tbsp maple syrup or honey to taste
a pinch of salt
a few good pinches of all spice (to taste)
a few good pinches of nutmeg (to taste)
1/2 cup shredded coconut
1 handful of organic raisins

To serve:

  • toasted coconut & almonds
  • Coconut Milk
  • Sliced pears (I didn't have any pears but they would have really perfected this dish).

IMG_6985.jpg

Directions

  • In a heavy based pot, combine the rice, coconut milk, maple syrup, salt, nutmeg and cinnamon. Bring to a boil, then reduce to a slow simmer.
  • Add the coconut and stir
  • Cook until nice and creamy. Stir often so the rice does not stick. It took about 20 minutes.
  • Garnish with chopped almonds, toasted coconut and/or diced pear and a drizzle of coconut milk.

IMG_6988.jpg

I am quite happy with how it turned out. It was a very warm and comforting dish. I think a bit of fruit would have really tied everything together just that much better. I refrigerated the left overs in small dishes so we can snack on it again through the week. Perhaps we'll add some berries to it tomorrow.


[@walkerland ]
Building a greener, more beautiful world one seed at a time.
Homesteading | Gardening | Frugal Living | Preserving Food| From Scratch Cooking|

You can also find me at: walkerland.ca | Facebook

Photo copyright: @walkerland

big_golden.png

Sort:  

This looks SOOOOOO good and a different twist. Love it!

Thanks! It was pretty good. My husband ended up pouring whole cream over his - he just loves his rice pudding that way. He always jokes that I am so stingy with the sauces.

What a great idea. Mum used to make brown rice pudding for us growing up, but this looks infinitely better !

I am not a big fan of brown rice. I'll eat just about any vegetable or grain on the planet but my mum served it all mushy and horrible when I was a kid. She wasn't really someone who liked to cook. I bet it was infinitely better as a rice pudding! I might even give that a try.

it was a hard challenge this week yes! there isnt THAT much white food options huh.. but you did it and it looks gorgeous! thanks for taking part again this week @walkerland!

Gosh, it really was hard. I think part of it was because a lot of the white foods I associate with winter and my body just didn't want to eat them with all the colourful food in the garden. Thanks so much for the challenge.

I love rice pudding, minus the raisins. Raisins aren't a favorite of mine.

If it would not conflict with requirements, I would have added cinnamon too...

Cinnamon would be great in this and does not conflict. My husband just does not like cinnamon so much. I love nutmeg - it's my favourite spice!

Oh, too bad about cinnamon! I love nutmeg, most particularly in eggnog. I add it to lots of stuff.

it was my grandmothers favourite and I think knowing that turned it into mine too. I think people overlook how versatile it is. Mmm Eggnog. Its been years since I had any!

I off and on will make a big mug of it, simply, couple eggs, raw milk, cream, sweetener, nutmeg and blend on high til VERY frothy. Then drink immediately, after spooning off the froth, the best part!

That sounds really lovely!!

Coconut rice pudding is a favourite around here. We never have pears as they don't grow here but I can imagine they would lift this dish to a whole other level!

I bet it would be lovely with any fruit! I've been snacking on it every day since I made it. Each time with new toppings. I think I'll do this again - it's so convenient.

oh this looks great, I love rice pudding but have not had it in years, will definitely give this a go. Thanks so much for sharing xxx

Such a delicious and lovely looking dessert my Dear. The combination of spices is truly wonderful and I think it could also work for chia pudding 🌼😊🌼

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67838.57
ETH 2628.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72