Broccoli Salad

in #food7 years ago

b3.jpg

I know, a broccoli salad doesn't sound appealing, but it has become a favourite amongst my family and friends after I stumbled across it a few years ago. The ingredients work well together and it is relatively healthy.

I don't use or have a fixed recipe for the salad, I use a rough guide which means you can experiment to suit your taste.

Here is how I make my version:

Salad Ingredients

  • Fresh broccoli, trimmed from head but with some stalk remaining
  • Shortcut bacon, diced
  • Red onion, sliced and cut into 3-5cm length
  • Sunflower seeds
  • Shaved parmesan

Salad Method

  • Steam broccoli for 3-5 minutes, then rinse immediately with cold water in a colander
  • Fry diced bacon
  • Lightly fry sunflower seeds
  • Once the above ingredients have cooled, mix together with red onion and shaved parmesan in a bowl.

To tie all the ingredients together and make the pop, you need a dressing. Some would be quick to jump to a creamy dressing, but as I mostly make this salad for barbeques I find it can be too heavy, so for balance, I make a lemon mustard vinaigrette.

Once again, I don't use a fixed recipe but the important thing is to continually taste as you go to suit your taste buds.

Dressing Ingredients (goes something like this)

  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon white wine vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon dijon mustard
  • 1 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper

Dressing method

  • Mix all together and pour over salad

b1.jpg
b2.jpg

I highly recommend giving it a try. You don't need to be a master chef to create this salad and you will be pleaseantly surpised.

Sort:  

This looks delicious!

If we ever have a work-do that I need to bring in a salad for, this will be it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61092.62
ETH 2666.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62