Food is Life - Lavender Berry Smoothie Bowl

in #food6 years ago

Lavender Berry Smoothie Bowl-50.jpg

So smoothie bowls, what’s all the hype? And yes, I know this is another smoothie bowl in the same week as my nice cream recipe (which is basically a smoothie bowl) but, you know what? YOLO! I also realize that you’re probably like, “Girl, you’re obsessed with nut butter on everyTHANG.” and my response to that is your abso-freaking-lutely right! It’s a vice I’ve resigned to live with and, come on, it could be a heck of a lot worse.

In other recent news…….. do you ever have random days when you can’t type for some reason? That’s happening to me today and I don’t get it. Also, have you seen Incredibles 2 yet, I’m finally going to see it and I’m really excited.

Lavender Berry Smoothie Bowl-50.jpg

Okay, so Summer arrived and all the plants in our backyard are blooming. I’m super hyped about the fact that the previous occupants of this house planted a bunch of edibles. There’s a cherry tree, apple tree, blackberries, blueberries, and even my favorite, raspberries! Unfortunately the berries aren’t enough for my whole household. Fortunately though, I’m one of the only ones who is obsessed with them!

Lavender Berry Smoothie Bowl-50.jpg

Aside from the fruits, there are a few other things planted that I had totally forgotten about until now. One of those was the lavender. Did you know lavender is like a plant superhero? Here’s a snippet from the web that had me wowed.

Today, lavender is most commonly used for anxiety, depression, mental exhaustion, insomnia, scrapes and wounds, digestive problems, headaches, skin problems and women’s health problems. In addition to this, lavender can be used to treat exhaustion, heat exposure, fevers, aches and pains, over-exertion, jet lag, rashes, sprains, sunburn, sunstroke, bruises and burns. It can also be used as a disinfectant and insect repellent. Lavender is an antiseptic, natural antibiotic, sedative, detoxifier.

Lavender Berry Smoothie Bowl-50.jpg

Incredible, right? That’s why I love trying to include it in a recipe from time to time. I’ve made one or two recipes with lavender in the past and every time I’ve gotten totally mixed reviews. That’s why I’m positive it’s a love-it-or-hate it kind of situation. If you’ve ever tried tasting it before and you already know you don’t like it, just leave it out of this recipe.

However, if you aren’t familiar with it I’d recommend adding it very sparingly at first to make sure it’s your thing.

Lavender Berry Smoothie Bowl-50.jpg

Print
Lavender Berry Smoothie Bowl
Prep Time: 10 minutes

Total Time: 10 minutes

Yield: 1-2 servings

Lavender is a super-herb with healing properties and distinct flavor. It plays the starring role in this simple and easy smoothie bowl.

Ingredients

3-5 tablespoons plant-based milk
1 cup frozen mixed berries
2 frozen bananas
1 scoop plant-based vanilla protein powder
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2-3 sprigs fresh lavender flowers (optional)
Topping Ideas:
fresh berries
nut butter
granola
splash of plant milk
Instructions

Combine 2 to 3 tablespoons of milk with the other ingredients for the smoothie bowl in a blender or food processor and pulse until combined and smooth but thick. Add more milk if needed. Scrape into a bowl and top as desired.

Comment me upvote me if you like this post and share your opinion with me on steemit. Follow me @vuthanhtai
Thank you.

Sort:  

Thanks , follow and upvote for me to watch more

Yes ! just followed you !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61143.97
ETH 3363.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51