You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Crawfish etouffee to delight Your Family & Dazzle Your Guests!

in #food7 years ago

So the trinity, onions peppers and celery. We heard some catalonians say they do onions celery and dried tomatoes, and here all along I thought it was onions carrots and celery.

Do you know about these things?

Sort:  

I know a little about this. My understanding is that the contents of "the trinity" varies depending on which culture is using it. Here is a quote from Wikipedia: "The holy trinity is the Cajun and Louisiana Creole variant of mirepoix; traditional mirepoix is two parts onions, one part carrots, and one part celery, whereas the holy trinity is typically equal measures of the three ingredients or two parts onions, one part celery, and one part green bell pepper." I can tell you that different cooks use different proportions of the ingredients. My trinity is 2 parts onion, 1 part bell pepper & 1/2 part celery.

I used to start almost with onions garlic and celery. Not sold on the carrots for me, I'll give the green pepper a try. Any difference between red green hot or hatch?

When it's your kitchen, it's your rules mon ami! You can use whatever bell pepper you like, I almost always stick with green but I'll use red or yellow if I some handy.

I just picked up some hatch peppers. Ripping off some gringo restaurant in LA, I made potato tacos for a crowd. Some hatch peppers left over. When it cools off next week, I'll try a roux for potato soup with this your coonass idea.

Post some photos I 'd like to know how it works out! 7-3's! The Kid.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60915.52
ETH 3364.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48