LECHON

in #food6 years ago

LECHON, A TRADITIONAL FIESTA FOOD IN THE PHILIPPINES

The famous Filipino Lechon is actually an inheritance from the Spanish occupation. Lechon in Spanish means: roasted suckling Pig. Lechon is not only earten in the Philippines, there are other countries in the world that know this delicious dish of a slow over charcoal roasted pig. It is also eaten in Puerto Rico, North Sulawesi and The Dominican Republic, to name a few. But in the Philippines, like in Puerto Rico it is the national dish. And I can tell you: it is delicious.

The pigs are specially bred and grown for this purpose only, and the Filipino’s eat it whenever they can, throw a fiesta and you will see a Lechon. For those who love statistics, here is a list with how much pork is eaten in the Philippines and the increase per year of that consumption. That included the Lechon.

So, the day I went out to find myself a nice evening dinner, I stumbled upon an sugba sugba restsaurant serving a fresh cooked lechon. Lucky me.

Now the best part of the lechon is the ribs, although I do like the tenderloin also, when the pig is freshly served and cooked slow it will still be juicy and moist. But for that night me and my guest we wanted the ribs. Poor guys at the restaurant, instead of showing a whole pig and slowly cutting from its back to keep the entertainment and eye candy going, they had to chop it up the moment it came on the table.!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62705.03
ETH 3101.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82