When my husband and I decided to head into the city for the Food and Wine

in #food8 years ago

Show this past weekend, we figured we should start our short getaway the way we intended to finish it. Gluttonous. There was nothing else for it but a trip to Sean’s Kitchen.

I’d always been tempted to try the dishes cooked up by Chef of the Year award winner Sean Connolly, but the over-the-top frou frou dishes of his famed Astral restaurant always felt a little pretentious for me. So when he opened up Sean’s Kitchen, it seemed like the perfect fit.

The meals at this Star City restaurant feel more rustic, but no less luxurious. We started off with the Flavours of Jamon tasting plate, a selection of the chef’s favourite jamon. They were tasty morsels, but I probably could have polished off the entire thing on my own. I was hungrier than I expect after an entree, and my husband was complaining that he really should have ordered the sashimi too. Maybe. It was an experience, and a delicious one at that, but I also probably would opt for a solo entree next time.

While I may have felt a little empty after the entree, I was blissfully content after my main of rabbit pie with tarragon and mustard. I often hesitate when ordering pies. I’m a carnivore, and the presence of veggies in my pies really irks me. I still hesitated here, but was glad I gave in. This was the pie I had hoped it would be. From that first moment I sliced in and the mustard gravy oozed from the pastry I knew it. There were a few veggies inside, but barely enough to notice. I was too busy focusing on that tender rabbit. It was a real treat, as were the duck fat chips we ordered as a side. I didn’t finish my green beans, but I wasn’t leaving one of those tasty fries behind.

As it turns out, I didn’t have room for dessert. My husband didn’t either, but he somehow found the space to chow down on the churros. Sadly they weren’t quite as good as those he’s had in America, the centres a little doughy for his liking, but the crispy outsides and gooey chocolate sauce helped to make up for their shortfalls.

Our meal at Sean’s Kitchen wasn’t perfect, but it was certainly good enough to encourage us to make a return visit.

Trading hours: Daily noon to 3 pm for lunch and 6 pm til 10:30 pm for dinner

Location: Level 2, Star City

Address: 80 Pyrmont Street, Pyrmont

Public transport: Take the light rail from Central Station or the monorail from Darling Harbour to Star City, or the #443 from Circular Quay

Parking: Paid parking is available on site. Enter via Pirrama Road or Edward Street

Cost: Entrees from $20, mains from $24

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60754.23
ETH 2913.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31