Let me make YOU Breakfast :)

in #food7 years ago (edited)

You to can have this lovely breakfast and it blooming good for you !

Have you ever sat down early in the morning and thought what does @vibeof100monkeys have for breakfast?

No, oh well i'm going to tell you anyway. It's very good for you and tastes rather good, if I don't say so myself. Now I can't take credit for inventing the recipe (you can hardly call it a recipe but i'm going to) I was told it but I am willing to share.

It's porridge... yay! 

With some added extras to tantalise your taste buds early in the morning. And its quick so ideal for those work mornings. I tend to have a more substantial breakfast / brunch at the weekends, maybe another post there although I don't think so its quite standard really.


So without further ranting lets get cooking:

First is the ingredients of the actually porridge.

Millet Flakes

Now you don't see it around much or even talked about, but I think it is making a comeback well in England anyways. So it's a grain from my brief research a very ancient one that has been around for centuries apparently used in China before rice became popular. The earliest written mention of Millet was 2800BC. I find a lot of good things were eaten but the ancients that we have now forgotten (been draw away from the truth). This grain to rather good for you the benefits include (I should put a disclaimer in here so take this as your disclaimer :) ):

• Good for heart

• Good for Diabetes

• Will hydrate your colon to keep you from being constipated

• Will calm you moods due to Serotonin

• Can lower cholesterol

• Its gluten-free and non-allergenic.

• And high in protein

Apparently it can reduce the effect of iodine getting to the thyroid so be aware of that one.

Next Porridge: 

I don't need to write about porridge do I 

I then add raisins and mix this all into a big tub for easy access 

Next I add this into a jar enough for one portion, for me normally about seven or eight table spoons (you might be more of less, its personal preference). Then I chop a lemon about quaterish and squeeze this into the mix, seeds and all.

So the benefits of the little lemon;

• Blood Purifier 

• Blood Sugar Balance 

• Detoxification

• Can cleansing the blood and removing toxins,

• The potassium found in raw lemon juice helps the brain and nerve cells

• Raw lemon juice can help improve sleep.


Then we add some water about twice the height above the gains I find works for me, it takes some experimenting  with to the the constancy you like. Then give it a very good shake up!

This we then leave in the air tight container (a old jar suites me and reuses things so a big bonus) over night. Just on the side in the kitchen will do. This allows the grains to soak the water and make them easier to digest.

In the Morning ...

We pour the contents into a pan removing the lemon pieces. Then we  add some goodies:

Moringa Power:

The Moringa oleifera tree originate in India I think and it is considers one of the most nutrient rich plant in the world. And yes I will list some benefits for you to wonder over:

• Can help with fatigue 

• Can help keep you skin healthy

• Can boost immunity

• Helps with muscle growth 

• Can help reduce stress

• Helps with digestion

• Good for diabetes

To name a few. 

Spirulina Powder:

• Helps get rid of Candida

• Detoxifies removing heavy metals

• Reduces cholesterol

• High in protein, boosting energy

• Anti cancer properties

• Good for weight loss

So both of theses are very good for you,

Lastly Cinnamon 

Cinnamon also has many benefits too but I am not going to list them. I use it mainly for adding some tastiness in the situation.

I then cook it to the right consistency and add some fruit, depending on what I have in. Today its apples. I then serve in a bowl, sit and enjoy :)


Steemers that is my lovely breakfast for you to try and its blooming healthy. I have been eating it for around a year now and am still functioning well, so seems ok. The colour is not the most appealing, it goes green from the Spirulina but this should be ignored or embraced which every way you see it!


So my friends I hope you enjoy this mixture and it does so some nice beneficial things for you.


But more than anything have a cracking breakfast!



Sort:  

Yo Bro! From a raw-foodie perspective, I'd say add the lemon & moringa AFTER cooking, you'll be killing most benefits, with the heat! Just as easy to stir it in at the end, as it cools, before serving.

I sell organic moringa by the KG, mega cheap... https://www.ebay.co.uk/usr/supermood_superfood?_trksid=p2047675.l2559

Nice one thanks for the tips, I'll try adding the powders after. Leaving the lemon in overnight allows it to ferment a little see. I'll look up your link :)

Fermenting is wonderful, but cooking the ferment, kills it. (just sayin' : ) You wont find cooked kombucha etc.

I know that but I don't fancy raw porridge with cold water. Have taken to adding morgina and spirulina after heating (only for five minutes or so). So getting the raw benefit of that.
I often have lemon water also :)

BOOM, perfect compromise.
(...doesn't bother me what you have for breakfast! ;)

I would hope not would be a bit weird if you did :)
But I appreciate the tips :)

HAhahaa... more tips in my Ebay description, where-ever that link went ;)

Yer I looked think I saved it somewhere in a bookmark. Stocked up at mo but will look into it dreckly

Now that's an interesting way to makep porridge!

Probably wouldn't be my first choice for breakfast, but it should be nutritious!

Thanks it goes down a lot better. But as I cycle most days to work I need energy and something easy. I don't eat cereal due to their high sugar content, and toast does not fill me up. So stumbled across this little gem :)

It looks really healthy and easy! I also have my own way to make a porridge too. ;)

Its good yer and gives you a nice boost in the morning. Share :)

breakfasts of champions! yum yum @vibeof100monkeys you make me want to eat a moringa power breakfast and go get lost up in the mountains.

That sounds like a cracking plan, I would love that :)

As a Scotsman and vegan (well, trying to be) oats are my go to breakfast. I love adding cinnamon, flaxseed and goji berries and using oat milk makes it even oater!

Nice sounds very tasty. Never got into oat milk. Soaking the oats over night makes them oaty too. You need it on cold northern mornings. Thanks for commenting, nice to hear other options. Have a cracking day :)

looks yummy. Try adding chorella to your diet. It rids the body of dead cells and coats the good cells. I see you are using moringa powder.I have a moringa tree and use the leaves in my green drinks. Getting ready to plant some more as I now have about 10 seed pods. It is the most nutritious plant I know of. When I get more seed pods, I plan to make the oil from the seeds. Also dry a bunch of the leaves and make a powder and also tea. Also going to plant a bunch in pots and sell the plants to locals. Great post by the way!!

Oh next time you buy spirilina,get the one from the Big Island. it is the best.

Thanks for your support. I've wondered about chorella will have to buy some next shopping adventure.
I need to find out more about using the actual morgina plant. I have some pods also but not sure if they will do well in the cold climate. I might wait till summer to plant it. Would appreciate some tips from your experience :)

This is my first experience with maranga but there is lots of info on the net. Also, you will not regret using the chorella. Look that up too.

Has a lot of really good benefits to it with all of the items you add to it. Probably does taste better than it looks. 🐓🐓

I know the green is not appealing but it is very nice taste I assure you :)

Congratulations @vibeof100monkeys! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice one thanks :)

Everyday I think what does @vibeof100monkeys have for breakfast?! Now I know. Amazing votes you have on this post!

Glad I have relieved you of this constant wonder ;)

I know chuffed with that one, I'll have to write more food ones seems to be a winner :)

"relieved you of this constant wonder" i love this english! x

Nice. I write how I speak or try to. Its not the queens English but I prefer my own style. It makes show me and my expression of things, some of off the wall but I prefer unique ;) x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64721.74
ETH 2633.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82