Cooking at night.

in #food7 years ago

At the moment of writing this, I am currently making a meal for my mother's lunch tomorrow at work. it's 10 PM and I got teary eyed from cutting an onion. Damn onions. If only there was a way to cut them without getting teary eyed! Or at least a way I knew of. Now that we have internet and a lot of information to choose from, we know that this is caused because of the chemicals which are freed from the onion when you're cutting it. But imagine all those people six hundred years ago. They wouldn't know this if not from the limited books or the wise people who had the knowledge. I might be wrong, but then imagine the first people who tried cutting onions! They could have thought it was a venomous substance that could turn them blind, or even worse! And then later, when they tried salting it, and cooking it in various ways they realize the taste was worth the tears.

But back at my original subject: I'm cooking a Bechamel for my mother, which I plan to drop in spaghetti for her to feel alive and fully energized tomorrow, whenever her lunch is. I just have to pour butter, flour and then the little onion chops and then the... bacon. I don't have bacon. Lack of bacon in my house is going to be the death of an otherwise perfect dish for my mother. Well, no turning back now, since I already dropped the other ingredients and already have here the other ones I will mix it with.

Now that the sweating is smelling tasty, I started adding the milk. slowly, because I hadn't had much time sweating the onions. I'm cooking without sizes so I have to get a sense of when it's enough, little or a lot. Aside from my eye, I'll have to use my tongue. So after the milk started getting thick in the sauce I knew the hardest part was over. I started getting creative and added some sweet, tender corn to the sauce. The sweetness of the corn contrasted the sauce in a very special way. But there is something missing. A flavor. And that flavor is the pepper. I added pepper slowly, careful not to screw it up, moved for a couple minutes and tried again. it was hot, but damn good. The lack of bacon was not going to be the death of the dish. I tried, and tried, and tried again. I probably shouldn't eat all the sauce by myself. But I can't help it! It's delicious and it's one of my favorite dishes, and then it's made by me and it was done in a way that I like. But now I have to start boiling water for my spaghetti. At least this part is easy.

Now it's been about 10 minutes and the spaghetti is all done. I poured it up and what did I find? Even with my excessive drinking of the sauce, it was too much for all the spaghetti I made. And I thought I was done cooking. Well, I only have one choice. Making even more pasta! I'm not going to complain, because it means it'll last for another day or two. Maybe even the rest of the week.

I started boiling water again, dropped some salt on it and when it was already boiling poured the spaghetti. It was a bummer I had to use another kind of spaghetti which was close enough but wasn't the same. Still, not complaining. And some minutes later it's time to pour this bad boy on it.

Perfection. It's perfect. The taste, the corn, the sauce, everything goes well and the different flavors have blended in. I was worrying about bacon but ended up with a sauce so good it couldn't have ended wrong. But... Now, after trying it again I just noticed something. I exceeded a bit with the pepper.

21397145_10215175290394662_2081722766_n.jpg

Image from the finished spaghetti, even though this was before adding more pasta to it.

Sort:  

Good post! vote for you.. i would appreciate a vote in my last post, thanks

Gracias vale.

It's late, and I need to make dinner, and this is motivating me to do this... I usually like to get my cooking done early, but this post reminds me that there's no bad time to cook.

Also, your mom is super lucky to be getting some of that pasta! It looks delicious (with or without its bacon).

Thanks! I love cooking. And between having to wake up earlier to cook and sleeping knowing your meal is already done I'd take the second option. And yeah, it was delicious in the end, so no problems!

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Sep 07. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $47.10 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Sep 07 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Congratulations @vexleon! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57530.32
ETH 2439.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37