Making Fried Green Tomatoes

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Good afternoon, Steemians!

IMG_2010.JPG

So as you may or may not now, recently I picked a green tomato for fear of it splitting from it getting too big.

Now, I could've waited weeks for the tomato to perhaps ripen, but who's got that kind of time? Ha. I decided to try my skills out in the kitchen once again and make fried green tomatoes. I also recently watched the movie, and watched it again with my wife (that's how much I enjoyed it)

Here's what I did:

I took my green tomato and put it to the side for the time being.

IMG_2003.JPG

I took a slice of whole wheat bread and baked it for 20 minutes at 250 degrees F.

IMG_2004.JPG

Took it out, tried my best to make breadcrumbs, but the bread was still too gooey so I put them back. (Should've used a blender)

IMG_2005.JPG

Fried up some vegetable oil (not healthy but we're in the Deep South, so when in Rome. Also I hardly ever cook with oil and don't recommend it unless for special occasions, too much fat!)

IMG_2006.JPG

I mixed the breadcrumbs with some corn flour (I didn't really know what I was doing but it made sense to me lol)

IMG_2007.JPG

Cut up that green mater!

IMG_2008.JPG

Press onto breadcrumb mixture (both sides) and stick'm in the oil. Wait til each side is golden or dark brown and you can stick a fork through it with ease.

IMG_2009.JPG

IMG_2010.JPG

No paper towels, so can't squeeze out the excess oil (heart attack, anyone?)

IMG_2011.JPG

I ate one just how it was, made a sandwich with (lol) ripe tomatoes and onion, drizzled a little ketchup on there and chowed down. Made sure to save a few slices for the wife :-)

IMG_2012.JPG

I'll say again, I don't cook with oil regularly, but every now and then it's a nice treat. This is something I could see myself doing once every couple of weeks. Try it if you haven't already, it's really good. You might want to add a little bit of salt. I don't usually add table salt to anything, but obviously there was salt in the ketchup I used so yeah.

Let me know if you've ever tried fried green tomatoes, and how you like them. I remember when I was in Spain in 2009, the lady I was living with would cook the students' (our) meals. I told her the first day I was vegetarian (not yet Vegan) and so she would always fry up zucchini and other vegetables. I kind of thought that was weird, though it tastes good!

Thanks for stopping by!

@vegansilverstack

IMG_1931.JPG

Sort:  

If you put an apple next to a green tomato and just let it mature it gets red!

Did you know?

By the same reason you shouldn't store apples with bananas... they mature faster :)

Yes, in a brown paper bag. I just didn't want to wait that long lol.

Haha understandable ;)
I have done it with a tomato 🍅 which was really green and waited 2 weeks haha

U know what I learned from this. You can put bread in oven and break bread to make DIY breadcrumbs. Who knew

Haha yes! That's also how croutons are made!

=)))) funny

I'm following you because I'm new, you're Vegan. But not because you fried a green tomato in breadcrumbs just to be clear! hahaha... Joke aside, the great thing about the Vegan kitchen is that we can really experiment and try out new things, including unripe tomatoes. :))

Haha nice! I will follow you too.

Good Morning and Thanks for sharing. Now I'm hungry :)

Haha you're welcome. Go eat!

The interesting fact is that in my country we do not use green tomatoes ..humm i should try this too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59476.67
ETH 2299.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48