STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #37: cauliflower wings with cheezy potatoes

in #food7 years ago

IMG_0050[1].jpg

Looking for a meal that will get your kids to eat those veggies and protein? Or maybe even yourself, right? Well, here you are!

Ingredients:

IMG_0012[1].JPG

Lets start with our cauliflower wings.
First step is to cut your cauliflower head into bit sized pieces.

IMG_0013[1].JPG

Then, in a bowl, wisk together:
3 cups Garbanzo Bean Flour
2 cups water
garlic salt and pepper to taste

IMG_0014[1].JPG

Next dip your cauliflower bites in the batter and then lightly coat in the panko crumbs.

IMG_0018[1].JPG

Finally, line up on a lightly oiled baking tray and bake at 450 degrees for 40-45 minutes, turning halfway through.

IMG_0019[1].JPG

Now, on to our cheezy potatoes!
Simply rough chop the potatoes (I made enough for 4 people) and place on a baking tray. Drizzle the potatoes with a little olive oil, salt and pepper, and, of course, the best ingredient, nutritional yeast.
Then, mix until the nutritional yeast sticks to all sides of the potatoes. Place the potatoes in the oven with the cauliflower and let bake for 25-30 minutes.

IMG_0026[1].JPG
IMG_0029[1].JPG

I made two dips for this meal. Both super simple (are you guessing my theme here??) and healthy.
The first is a cashew cheeze dip.
I had one cup of cashews soaking in water for 4 hours, then placed them in a blender with 1/3 cup nutritional yeast, and a small dash each of salt, cumin, and turmeric.

IMG_0035[1].JPG

As it blended, I added a 1/4 cup of water to smooth it out, but this amount is obviously to your preference.

Next dip was a cucumber and tomato dip.

IMG_0039[1].JPG

I chopped a small cucumber and half a tomato and mixed them with half a cup of vegan sour cream.
I added a small dash of turmeric, just because I know my kids like it that way, but feel free to skip it, this dip taste great without it.

IMG_0043[1].jpg

So, that's it! This may seem like a lot of steps but it really is an easy dinner, where your oven does most of the work. Also, my kids love to help batter the cauliflower. I feel like if your kids like chicken nuggets and fried potatoes they will love this healthy, vegan alternative that is chock full of veggies, protein, and flavor.

Sort:  

Congratulations @veganmommy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great food @veganmommy... your children sure look like they approve! It's a good trick to coat veggies in crumb, makes them more exciting for kids! And I love the sound of both those dips, especially the cheesey cashew one, yummy! I'm glad to see the upvotes on this post have given you a fab reward, as you submitted this too late for the challenge. The deadline is always wed 12 noon UTC. Hope to see you in the next round... the next theme is right up your street, so to speak! :-)

Yeah, that's my fault. I got my times mixed up and thought it was PM, but it was AM. You can bet I'll remember now, lol!

No worries, it was great to see your food anyway and at least your upvotes got you some good reward :-)

I'm sure it is delicious)

No left overs so that's a good sign. :)

great recipe

Thanks for the compliment. I was just looking over your pictures and they are beautiful. I really like the old wood church in Norway.

You're doing a terrific job! The kids look happy with those little thumbs up. Sorry, I may have missed it, but how long have you guys been vegan? I've been vegan for about 4 years and just recently wrote my own article about the absurdity of trying to argue against it (a response to another community member who opposed vegetarianism).

It's here - https://steemit.com/vegan/@nickmorphew/everyone-s-a-vegan-at-heart-ridding-yourself-of-moral-hypocrisy-is-assured-to-lighten-your-heart if you're interesting in checking it out. It's not short, so give yourself a few minutes to digest it all. lol.

Take care,
Nick

We went fully vegan about 4-5 years ago, so same time as you :D I became vegetarian at 5 years old, though. When my vegetarian (at the time) husband and I first moved in together we were eating vegan when we were in the house, but ate dairy when we were out at restaurants. However, going completely vegan has been the best choice for us and we love it. Your post is great, thanks for writing it and putting it out there.

That was a similar process to us also - It was a transition based on new information presented to me and becoming more familiar with product labels.

Thanks for reading my article and your kind words. We can only share what we have experienced or what comes to our own minds. I'm glad you saw value in it and upvoted (although, there was certainly no obligation to).

Thanks again.

All the best,
Nick

Oooh this looks yummy! I Love cauliflower, and you seem to have got a recipe that deserves those thumbs up!

Thanks, I love cauliflower too. With the right seasonings you can put it in any dish. I really liked your dishes theme, I can tell you put a lot of thought into that plate, well done!

So true!! Thanks for checking out my post too :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62931.02
ETH 3031.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64