Eating Without Refrigeration or Cookware

in #food7 years ago

I don't currently have a stove or any other cooking supplies which is problematic for dinner, but breakfast and lunch are pretty easy. Out here in California, there is a local Trader Joe's that carries some nice dried foods. Check out my little haul.

I also picked up a few things from another grocery store. Here are my breakfast menu items:

  • Cheerios
  • Dried Milk
  • Freezedried Raspberries
  • Water

No refrigeration required. Here I am enjoying my cereal on the coast on a day with no so great weather.

My lunch menu items are:

  • Peanut Butter
  • Wheat Bread
  • Freezedried Raspberries
  • Kale Chips
  • Almonds & Mixed Nuts

Again no refrigeration required. I would also recommend trying to get unsalted nuts as a lot of dried foods tend to have higher salt content and it can get to be excessive. Dinner is more difficult and I don't have that locked down yet so I am spending more money than I should be eating out.

Sort:  

Food was always one of our most challenging tasks each day. We tried to eat a warm meal at least once a day. To do that, we had a small "pocket rocket" type stove, a small gas canister, and some titanium cookware. The stove and gas were cheap <$20 combined. Titanium is pricy, but aluminum or stainless works just as well. Our favorite breakfast was quick oats, sometimes with peanut butter, sometimes fruits. For dinner we had instant ramen, with added veggies like canned corn. There are all sorts of canned foods too, just be careful of the sodium.

Hey man, you finally made it. Thanks for the input and ideas, a stove and some cheap meals to cook is high on my priority list of upgrades.

If you have the space, I'll lend you some of my stuff for a while. I don't think I'll be doing too much camping anytime until the summer maybe.

It took forever for my account to be confirmed, but yes, I am finally here. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59273.25
ETH 2758.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28