You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Before You Start Canning

in #food7 years ago

I use a large pressure cooker to can apple sauce (it's called bottling in the UK). Although I'd be very wary about canning meat in it, I might get more ambitious and try some soups and beans. It's great for apple sauce though as I get to use all the apples from my tree, which then gets used up in porridge mostly.

Sort:  

You have to treat high acid foods like apple sauce very different then low acid foods like meat. For low acid foods you need a pressure canner. That means any food with meat in it, like a soup. You need to maintain the pressure for your altitude. For example, 1001 to 2000 feet, use a 15 lb weight and cook 1 qt of meat for 90 minutes. Low acid foods, not canned correctly will not keep and are not safe to eat. Always try to store all your canned foods in the coolest place possible, below 70F if you can. Your pressure cooker if fine for high acid foods. Please, do not preserve meat or beans in your pressure cooker, it is not safe. I am glad to help if you have more questions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65359.95
ETH 3492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51