Super Easy Egg salad!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

This post is for anyone who likes egg salad but isn't quite sure what all goes into it.
My recipe is really simple and can be adjusted to suit your taste. This is a great starter recipe for kids who are learning to cook. It's quick and doesn't require precise measurements and it's yummy.

You'll need:
Eggs- about a dozen
Mayonnaise- several tablespoons
Yellow mustard- a teaspoon
salt- about 1/4 teaspoon but you can add this until it is good to you
I like adding a meat like tuna or chicken- just 1 can of either
Vinegar-a teaspoon
Get a big bowl to mix it all in.

First boil your eggs for about 10 mins. Add the Vinegar to the water, it will make the shells come off easier. Start counting down once the water is boiling.

OK after 10 mins, CAREFULLY drain the water off into the sink into a colander/strainer.
Put cold water in your pot and sit in the sink. Put the eggs back into the pot in the cold water. This makes them cool off faster so you don't burn your hands peeling the shells off. You may need to keep adding cold water as the eggs warm up the water.

Gently cracked the eggs and peel the shells off. Shells are great for composting. Do not try to put them down the sink even if you have a garbage disposal, they will clog your pipes. Rinse the eggs after you peel them to get of any tiny pieces of shell.

Put the peeled eggs in the bowl for mixing. Use a fork, whisk or potato masher to mash them up to a chunky size.
Add in the Mayo, mustard, salt and meat if you choose to have meat. Stir it all together and taste it to see if you need more of something.
I add diced tomatoes, celery, onions, broccoli or mushrooms sometimes too.

There ya go. Simple right? Store in the fridge in a covered container for a couple days. I don't know exactly how long it will last but I personally don't eat any leftovers after 3 days in the fridge.

eggsalad1.jpg
eggsalad3.jpgeggsalad5.jpgeggsalad4.jpg

Please upvote, comment and resteem :D Follow us for more fun recipes, homeschooling and homesteading stuff.
I can't see who upvotes posts so be sure to comment and I'll check out your posts too.

Sort:  

Good stuff, I'm at the point of trying to get 100-200 eggs a day and all egg recepies are good news. I want to learn to pickle eggs too.
Now following for more.
Thanks

Wow that's a lot of eggs. We eat a couple dozen a week here but I've never tried a pickled egg. If you have a good recipe for them please share. I love pickles so it only seems right that I'd love pickled eggs. Pickled okra and carrots are good too!

I've had pickled carrots from a Hutterite farm, they were great, and I've ate pickled eggs onions beets and pigs feet all my life. 200 eggs a day would be a better than we need to support a good living here and a good pass time for my wife :-) who has no interest in working away from home. They sell mini pickled eggs here but not chicken eggs, so If i can't sell them fresh I will pickle and try to sell them that way ? All only in my mind at the moment, but that is where it all begins LOL. Will let you know when a good recipie come along.
Cheers

Wonderful! I just used this to make some egg salad with a bunch of hard boiled eggs I needed to use up and it turned out great! I added some other things like paprika, parsley, shallots, lemon juice and dijon mustard too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69344.89
ETH 3347.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74