Parmesan Spinach Gnocchi

in #food7 years ago

Since I was missing Germany so much, I decided to go out and buy some pre-cooked potato gnocchi. Although it isn't a German meal I had never had it before until I lived there. Welp, I wanted to re-create some of the food experiences I had and I decided to whip up some parmesan spinach gnocchi that I would have with my host family. Enjoy the recipe! I am lactose intolerant so I used lactose free ingredients and it still tastes amazing!

c9121c44-8a97-4860-8b10-3fb89cb704b8.jpg

1 package Pre-cooked potato gnocchi
(Cook according to package - usually by bringing salted water to boil, add gnocchi, once water boils again drain and set to side. It goes really quick)

2 tablespoons of unsalted butter (important that it is unsalted, otherwise meal will be too salty). Melt over medium heat and add 2 cloves of minced garlic. Cook for about a minute, be sure not to let it burn/turn too brown. Add 2 tablespoons of flour (all-purpose works best). Mix with a whisk. It will get slightly clumpy, just keep mixing and let it cook for about 45 seconds, this helps to get rid of the taste of flour. Add 1 and 1/4 cup of milk, slowly (a little bit at at time). The mixture will clump up a lot here. No worries! Just add milk and stir and then add milk and stir and keep going until all the milk is used and it will turn into a cream. Let it cook for about 2 minutes. Add 3 cups of spinach. I would recommend chopping it first. Up to you though. Let that cook about a minute or so. Taste the sauce and season with salt and pepper to your liking. Remove from heat. Add one cup of parmesan cheese (shredded, grated.. don’t matter). Mix thoroughly. Add the gnocchi. Serve. I like to add ground nutmeg, just a tad to my own bowl.

Sort:  

Congratulations @trezzles! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @trezzles! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64778.13
ETH 2531.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68