You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Pistachio Bars W/Rose Petals - No Bake

in #food7 years ago

I wonder if there is a preferred variety of rose that is best used in culinary preparations, I have three rose bushes, only one is fragrant, the others are more ornamental and remind me more of wild roses or something. . . Also, a post about "candied" violets would be awesome, i have always wanted to try them, as I have a lot growing in my yard.

Sort:  

Thank you Thomas! I've never heard about candied violets, I should probably research them. As far as using flowers in cooking goes, I've only tried roses and lavender, I got both off of Amazon, the descriptions just said they were edible, but I am not sure if they differ from regular ones. I know there are so called tea-roses, they smell delicious and make a tasty tea and jam, I have not seen them here, but it could be one that you have, the fragrant one!

I hear a lot about people making "simple syrups," from things like honeysuckle flowers. I have yet to taste it or try my hand at it. Maybe I can send you some exotic ingredients from the mountains. not sure how I could go about sending them through the mail, maybe dry ice or something?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59120.07
ETH 2921.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79