Psst...The SECRET Ingredient for Delicious Southern Sweet Tea

in #food7 years ago

iced tea.jpg

Summer, Sweet Tea, a Southern Secret.

Sipping a glass of ice cold sweet tea on the front porch in August just makes me happy. Grateful even. It's just impossibly perfect.

I've heard the whispers of Southern Belles and they've let me in on the secret ingredient to making the perfect pitcher of sweet tea. Now, a lady doesn't share her secrets with just anyone, but what the heck, we're friends, aren't we?

A pinch of baking soda.

Seriously. Baking soda. Why? Well, I've learned that the baking soda neutralizes the tannins and makes the tea less bitter and much smoother.

So, here goes...

FOR THE TEA:
10 cups Water, Divided
6 Regular Sized Black Tea Bags
1 pinch Baking Soda

In a saucepan, bring 3 cups of water to a boil. Remove the pot from the heat. Add tea bags and baking soda. Steep for 5–6 minutes.

Remove tea bags without squeezing. DO NOT JUST ADD SUGAR TO SWEETEN. Make a very simple "simple syrup."

FOR THE SIMPLE SYRUP:
3/4 cups Granulated Sugar
3/4 cups Water

Mix sugar and water in a small saucepan. Bring the mixture to a boil and allow to boil for about 5–7 minutes. You’ll notice the mixture will reduce. Add to tea.

Pour the perfectly sweetened tea into a pitcher and add remaining 7 cups water. Serve over ice.

Now, go find yourself a nice rocking chair and relax. You deserve it. :)

front porch.jpg

Sort:  

Wow, I have never heard of using baking soda like that before. I will have to give it a try. I love ice tea, especially in the summer. Thanks for the recipe tips! :) Upvoted and resteemed!

I've lived in the south for 2 years now and never heard the baking soda secret. Those southern belles must trust you with their secrets. ;)

@lydon.sipe! So good to hear from you. I've been off steemit for awhile and it's so good to see/hear/read from a friend. :)

P.S. Apparently, I'm not the best at keeping secrets. They never should've trusted me.

It is so good to read a @tlester post - I missed that sweet sarcasm.

Haha, or maybe they knew you would share it on the blockchain. 😏

Sweet tea. Ahhhhh...
I miss McAlister's Deli :)

Oh yeah. I always use a pinch of baking soda in my tea. I think there is a difference. I can tell the times I forget the baking soda because of a tad of bitterness depending on the type of tea I use. If I use something like Lipton Ice Tea blend I don't think the bitterness is there but if I use a different blend like just normal tea I pick it up and the baking soda is necessary.

I made this recipe yesterday; and, I have to say it's quite smooth. It made about a half-gallon. Normally, I drink my tea, as is; so, the sweetness is a treat. I've decided to pour the remaining into ice trays and add to my tea to let the sugar-effect melt into the tea.
One note to those new at making this recipe: When you put a little baking soda in your hand and grab a pinch, clear your hand of the baking soda, placing this pinch in your palm. Now, pinch that, and add to your tea. If you over pinch :+)...you will experience a little back-kick. So, pinch, and pinch that.
It's a delicious recipe; and, great to have in the fridge.
Peace.

Im so glad you tried the recipe @spiritualmatters! You are right, you definitely dont want to overpinch! Thanks for your contribution to the post!

I love tea; and, sweet tea is almost like a sacred delight. Thank you for this recipe. I will definitely try this recipe.
Btw, your blog read very smoothly :+)...
This deserves an upvote, resteem, and a follow!
Peace!

Thanks for stopping by @spiritualmatters! Thanks for your support too. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63099.80
ETH 2455.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58