Wacky Facts by Agent K #36: Did You Ever Wonder Why Round Pizzas Come In Square Boxes?

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Today my "wacky facts" are turning the same age as my age. I am quite emotional about it; so I decided to talk about PIZZA once again. 

I am sure most of you have noticed that even though pizza is (or should be for God's sake) round, it ALWAYS ends up in square boxes! Did you know that this happens for a reason though? No? Well, me neither...until now!

The Menu of the Day  

To begin with, if you ask any pizzeria owner he or she will tell you that square boxes are easier to make and cheaper, too. 

Moreover, they require much less space for transportation and storage, since they arrive in unfolded form and when the staff needs them, can easily and quickly give the familiar shape by folding them at predetermined points. 

Round boxes, on the other hand, typically have to be pre-made and are bulkier, leading to difficulties in transport. Pizzas also come in square boxes for practical reasons, so we won’t be struggling or making a total mess just to taking a single slice from the box. 

See, we NEED the empty space at the corners so we can effortlessly lift a piece out while leaving the rest of the pizza intact. 

Of course the same result would have been possible with a round box too, but only if the dimensions of the box were significantly bigger than those of the square one.  

In this case, however, there would be two main problems: the delivery guy would need a truck to carry such a big box (OK, I might be exaggerating a bit here) and most important, the food inside wouldn’t remain in place during the transport and would arrive to our house like it was bombed or something.  

To make a long story short, pizza needs all four sides of a square box so it can remain practically immobile and reach its destination in the exact same form it left the pizzeria.   

Sources:

Why does a round pizza come in a square box?

Why Do We Put Round Pizzas in Square Boxers?

Why is pizza in round shape, but it's put in square boxes and it's cut in triangle pieces?

Images / Gif : 2 3 4 5 7

Sort:  

Ha, good one! I guess the reason for the square box and I loved the gif's you used in this post :) Love your humor :)

Thank you very much @steem-samiam and I am really glad you appreciate my humor :)

Never thought I would enjoy a post on pizza but... I did!

Allez les bleus ;)

Waw intersting, my baby is like mummy i want to eat this pizza!! I told him, you will bring some for him. So he is still waiting. Nice work i love what i see.

Ha Ha....Give your baby my love but don't lie to him...I won't be able to bring him any pizza tonight ;)

Your post is always helpful @tkappa 。◕‿◕。

That's very sweet of you to say :)

Learnt something new, I used to think it was just a random decision. Well done.

Nice post it is helpful for me thank you.

Awesome post! I invite you to visit our blog and vote us back! And of course to enjoy our content :)

The only things that gets a round box are chocolate, alchohol and hats. I shouldn’t upvote this post. But you put effort into it. And I like pizza. And square boxes.

Round boxes are also awesome for fried chicken ;)

I think kfc refers to it as a tub or bucket where I come from haha sorry to get technical

Oh yeah! Buckets...100% right you are. Where are you from really? Greek-American?

Yeah I’m Greek-American.

hm...this is lovely!

So lovely, isn't it?

ED424F6B-4F73-4646-AB8D-58FBD76CCE60.jpeg
This is lovely. Hmm?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60249.86
ETH 2347.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52