Ghana Diaries-A day at the Farms

in #food7 years ago

I bet many of you have different ways that you farm and how you cultivate. Today I will be sharing with you my adventure at a farm in Nangun Nayili. Nangun is a very typical village where their major economic activity is farming. Farming as most people see it is difficult but can be really lovely if you have the passion for it.
image
To the more privilege societies that have machinery and have mechanized their farming systems, they really see it to be of something simple. Even if they don't, we see it much simpler over here. But indeed, even with the tools involved in mechanized farming, it is not easy to produce an acre of food produce. To the people of Nangun, farming is the only thing they know and they can't stay a day without going to farm to during the raining season. Though they don't have machines to make farming easy, they do enjoy it and do it really well. Today being another farming day, I followed some of the natives in Nangun to their farm to cultivate soya beans. It was really an interesting journey as the men use dibbers to make holes and the females start putting the seeds and and covering the hole. The whole process seemed so simple that I decided to join after two minutes. Hihi
image
image
It was then that I knew that I didn't have enough stamina to withstand the sun scourging. I was able to help for an hour and we took a break around 10:00 am to take breakfast.
image
I believe you must be wondering, is that brunch or breakfast. Indeed it was breakfast. I thought after eating, the work will end. Little did I know it was only the beginning. The fun was there but the work wasn't easy. I sat and began to appreciate all that farmers have been doing. Its not easy to plant and cultivate an acre of soya beans. It drew to my attention that most of us don't even think about where our foodstuffs are coming from, Who the producer is and how it was produced. As such we don't value our food that much and we end up throwing a hard suffered to cultivate crop or produce away. This is just a call and a shout out to all steemians to preserve food and prevent it from waste. For the farmers really suffer before they get the produce for us.
image

image

Upvote, follow and resteem to help more steemian and newbie Africans to be able to access steemit on the go.
Self Imposed Steemit African Ambassador. Mad Lover of Steemit
Watch out for more Ghanaian Culture Post

#africa #ghana #ackza

Sort:  

It was then that I knew that I didn't have enough stamina to withstand the sun scourging. I was able to help for an hour and we took a break around 10:00 am to take breakfast.

You only need to run a day for 30 minutes to make your stamina strong, great story

Loading...

nice.help us

am upvoting you for the best farmer award @steemit. lol

You had an interesting adventure, I also like to work on the ground, but not for long, and they have hard work

You know it right. Every one has a part to play. And you and me better do or parts will by using the foodstuffs well. Farming is not easy koraa. As u can see how we were sweatimg in one of the pictures

farming is best thing to survive and help to survive the world

Yh. You know it right. This world can not make it without farmers and we need to show some love to them. They really suffer to produce food for us all. I respect farmers a lot for they are full of dignity and love.

Well my friend I tell ya We need more peeps like you in this worldI commend you for your spirit and being a human in this life helping others God be with you! aloha Al

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67443.68
ETH 3234.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65