FRIEND OR PHO BURGER – A Vietnamese Pho Inspired Burger!

in #food7 years ago

Before we get into this post, a quick dislaimer: I know that Pho is pronounced “fuuuuh” but for the sake of the pun let’s pretend it’s not 🙄.

This was probably the hardest, that’s not the right word, most challenging burger I’ve made to date. When creating a new burger, I usually start with the pun and then work my way backwards. The idea of having a pho-inspired burger sounded genius to me, but where would I start? How was I going to turn a soup into a burger? How would I make everything work without having any ingredient overpowering the others? That’s when I took a step back, listed the ingredients that went into making Pho and started grouping together what would work.

The spices and aromatics that create the intensely flavoured broth would be what I flavour the beef patty with. Then you have the toppings that go onto a Pho, bean sprouts, coriander, green onions, lime/lemon, Thai basil, and sriracha. Slaw is a common topping on burgers, using the bean sprouts, coriander, green onions and lime I created a “slaw”. That left me with two ingredients, Thai basil and sriracha, the one thing missing from my burger was a sauce. Mixing some sriracha with Thai basil and a little mayo created a creamy and slightly spicy sauce perfect to compliment the burger.

There was no question about the type of bun to use, a baguette was the obvious answer. Although that would make it more like a Banh Mi then a burger, you say tomato I say tomato. (I hope you’re reading that the way I’m intending it to be with a different pronunciation, otherwise I look completely insane).

DSC_0139-copy.jpg

Don’t want to toot my own horn here, but toot toot. This burger, to me, tastes exactly like a Pho. Do I dare say I prefer it this way because of the fresh crispy baguette? We all know I’m a sucker for carbs.

DSC_0152.png

Very portable, and easy to eat anywhere unlike traditional Pho which requires utensils and sitting down.


Download the full recipe at TillyEats.
Watch the d.tube video here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58075.38
ETH 2463.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38