Who likes kombucha? The process of making kombucha beverage

in #food7 years ago

20180128_104931.jpg

Kombucha is a beverage that has been very popular lately. It’s texture resembles a sparkling tea. I drink it because it is believed to help with various disorders in the gastrointestinal system.

20180128_105706.jpg

As it sometimes has an odd smell, we usually enrich it with various spices and ingredients such as mastic, or turmeric, or lime zest.

20180128_105144.jpg

Basic preparatory steps:

· You must have 2-3 large glass bowls (of 4-8 ltrs) open on the top so that your hand can enter. Also, the bowl you will utilise, as well as the rest of the equipment used, should be cleaned with vinegar. Your hands too.

· The water used should also be boiled.

· You procure a kombucha mushroom either from a store with biological products, or from a friend who has already cultivated it. You can also produce one by using vinegar and yeast.

· A couple of cheese cloths and elastic bands.

· Glass bottles for storage (I have more than 20 bottles so that there are enough for future cultivations)

20180128_104959.jpg

Ingredients for the basic preparation of the beverage: 1 ½ - 2 ltrs water, 4 spoons of black tea (alternatively 4 tea bags of black tea), 1 cup of white sugar, 1 kombucha mushroom

20180128_104646.jpg

Now, on to the preparation: in the clean glass bowl, I put the hot water, the tea bags and the sugar and stir till the sugar melts. I let the water get cold and I remove the tea bags. With my clean hands I put the mushroom in the tea-water. I cover with cheesecloth very well (use an elastic band) and place it in a cool place or cupboard, with no odours, for 7-14 days. The timing depends on the temperature of the place. You understand that the beverage is done, once the mushroom covers the entire surface of the tea-water – that is, once it has consumed the sugar.

20180128_104344.jpg

With my clean hands I take out the mushroom, once the beverage is ready, and keep it in a clean bowl for future use (saved along with ½ cup of the beverage). I cover it with cheesecloth. Sometimes kombucha mushroom produces a second brother-mushroom. This can be stored in the fridge for future uses or given away. Each kombucha mushroom can be used c.10 times.

20180128_105930.jpg

I transfuse the beverage in clean bottles, store them outside the fridge for 2-3 days and then into the fridge. Once you put them in the fridge the brewing stops. While they are kept outside of the fridge there is brewing taking place; that is why you should be extra careful not to have an explosion of the bottles. At the stage of transfusing the beverage in the clean bottles you can use various spices in order to give different flavours: use mastic powder, or 5-6 cloves, 2-3 cinnamon sticks or 1stsp of ginger root sliced, or a stick of lemon verbena, or any other ingredient you like. Also you can add flavors at the stage of serving kombucha tea. Just improvise!

20180128_105407.jpg

I hope I have managed to transmit the entire process that we do at home, with my poor English. If you have any questions don’t hesitate to ask!

20180128_104906.jpg

Enjoy!

Sort:  

Kombucha 😍

We have several excellent Kombucha suppliers here in Sweden, I am needless to say a frequent drinker ✌🏼

Never thought of doing it myself, but would indeed be quite nice to have a bunch lined up ready to be consumed when wished upon 🤟🏼

Good article overall, liked the photos and - in lack of better words - the narrative.

Otherwise, if you're into travelling, vlogs, fitness, self-development etc feel free to check out my channel, in any case keep up the good work and I'll see you around!😁

Thanks..I already follow you..take care!

You too✌🏼 I'll let you know when the Kombucha is on its way 🙌🏼

wow...wondarful picture...& awsome post...i love your post...my dear @tikotiko....thank for sharing...dear @tikotiko....

Magic tea with normal mushroom! ;)

I used to drink Kombucha every day in Canada, because I also was told that it had excellent health properties - but mainly because it is readily available now in most grocery stores, not just specialty shops.

I think that I am much to lazy to make it myself. Have you seen bottles of ready made Kombucha for sale in supermarkets in Greece?

I think there might be in bio stores.. I will check and let you know! Does the ready made one have an ugly smell?

They are offered in several flavors, like you mention, such as ginger etc. I still didn't find them particularly pleasant to drink but did it for the health benefits claimed. When I first got interested in the drink I could only get it in bio stores, but soon it was offered by most food supermarkets. I would imagine the markup/profit is quite high because a bottle of the drink was quite expensive in store. I knew a few people who made their own, but, as I said, I am quite lazy.

Ok I will make arrangements so that I give you some..

I might be going to the demonstration on the 4th.

I am trying to organise something different

Just how different are we talking here? I may be strange, but I'm not kinky :-)

Not at all..coming to your side of the river..if that would suit you of course!

I had not heard about this drink before, it's very interesting. I will prove it

A tea that is that helpful to the GIT is great one! Wow;-

Kombucha is a beverage that has been very popular lately. It’s texture resembles a sparkling tea. I drink it because it is believed to help with various disorders in the gastrointestinal system.

Will definitely try this Dear! Thanks for sharing. Keep steeming;-

Now, on to the preparation: in the clean glass bowl, I put the hot water, the tea bags and the sugar and stir till the sugar melts. I let the water get cold and I remove the tea bags. With my clean hands I put the mushroom in the tea-water. I cover with cheesecloth very well (use an elastic band) and place it in a cool place or cupboard, with no odours, for 7-14 days. The timing depends on the temperature of the place. You understand that the beverage is done, once the mushroom covers the entire surface of the tea-water – that is, once it has consumed the sugar.

Thank you for reading!

Wao so nice post keep it up God bless u

Very intresting post and great presentation @tikotiko!! I think I will try to make it!

Let me know how it goes!

Sure!❤

Thanks for sharing ! Would love to give this drink ago ! Would do wonders for the body !

Thanks for reading!

Reading this has made me thirsty

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67211.91
ETH 2613.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68