Tikotiko Christmas sweets: Melomakarona!

in #food7 years ago (edited)

20171222_123834.jpg

Here is a treat that is accustomed in Greece during Christmas and is really tasteful, not so difficult - only tricky in some points, and can be eaten by vegetarians as well, as there is no dairy ingredient in them! Of course there is sugar, but if you consider that you actually put only 3 glasses of sugar for 150 pieces of melomakarona, then, ok, it’s a small sin!

20171210_105500.jpg

I think that baking melomakarona is a nice way to get into the Christmas mood, as they have very nice scents which pervade the house.

20171222_124233.jpg

Ingredients for the cookies dough: 1 glass of olive oil, 1 glass of coconut oil, 1 tbsp of cinnamon, 1 tbsp of carnation, 1 orange zest, 1 glass of sugar, 1 small cup of brandy, 1 small tbsp of baking powder, 1 glass of fanta orange juice with carbonation, all purpose flour (as much necessary, circa 1kgr). These ingredients produce about 130-150 pieces

20171210_110036.jpg

Ingredients for the syrup: 2 glasses of sugar, 1 glass of water, 1 cinnamon stick, skin of 1 orange, 1-2 tbsp of honey. Ground walnuts for the decoration

20171222_124205.jpg

In a deep bowl: You mix the baking powder in the fanta orange juice, you add the oils, the cinnamon, the carnation, the orange zest, the brandy. Little by little you add the flour and mix with your hands until it becomes a nice mixture.

20171222_124347.jpg

I preheat the oven in 170C. I shape small cookies with my hands and place them on a tray, the one next to the other, but leaving some space in between.

20171210_110237.jpg

I filled in 5 trays. I baked them in 150C in the pre-heated oven for about 15-17’ each tray. This is the first tricky point. You need them to be done, but not to burn them, so you have to keep an eye on them!

20171210_105726.jpg

I let the cookies cool down and prepare the syrup. I add all my syrup ingredients in a pot, and let them boil and become a uniform syrup. You remove the syrup from the fire, skim the syrup and take away the cinnamon stick and the skin of the orange.

20171210_104941.jpg

You soak the cookies in the syrup for about a minute; few cookies each time. You want the syrup to be hot and the cookie to be in room temperature. This is the second tricky point. You want them to have syrup but not too much as you don’t want them to dissolve.

You spread them in a nice serving dish and sprinkle them with walnut crumbs.

Enjoy and Merry Christmas!

20171210_110222.jpg

Sort:  

I have tasted your melomakarona amd they were super delicious! Small bites of sugary sins :P

Thank you dear!

"Of course there is sugar, but if you consider ..., then, ok, it’s a small sin!"

And if you can't commit a few small sins at Christmastime, then when can you? LOL
And they do sound so delicious (as some sins do)!

You are like the voice in my mind!!!!
Actually they are droolicious!

You are having a bad day post the fasolada...l try making these another day!!

Questions!

When you say a small cup of brandy, you mean like a shot? Or like half a normal cup or something?

My coconut milk is totally solid cos it's winter. Is that ok? Should I heat it up a bit to turn it liquid?

On the 1st I put 1 espresso cup of brandy.
On the 2nd of course it is solid this time of year. I warm it in a small pot either the whole oil pot (like you do with the honey) or like bain-marie..

yummy....makes me hungry...

Resteemed ki opoios anteksei!

Thank you my dear @chbalk!
Hronia Polla!

HO HO HO - OH OH OH

Good one!!!

ho ho ho yummy. I do not want to be fat
you can also look at my recipes (myblog)
Merry Christmas @tikotiko :)

Not too many calories per bite though...followed you back!take care!

thank u ;)

Merry Christmas my dear @tikotiko

You too darling!!!

ok i am convinced, i go make some too!

Good luck!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54370.47
ETH 2283.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33