Large onions

in #food7 years ago

15141522457291504824081.jpg

How do you chop your onions???
As I mentioned earlier in my post "family oddity 1", I was not necessarily much of a cook during my early ages and maybe I'm not a chef Now but eh, I can proudly say I cook eatable food. What goes on in between is none of the general public's business. He he he😈😈😈

When I was younger, the main events occurring during my travails in the kitchen involved the little big things like chopping up the onions(this is definitely a major event. So don't underestimate it), washing the washable ingredients, cleaning the cleanables, cutting up the leaves(not the major ones if you do not want banana leaf-like leaves in your food), etc.

So today, we are concentrating on my onions 🐒 I learnt how to chop onions from my mum and she always stated that the must haves needed for this important ritual were a knife and a flat surface(be it a board or a plate). The flat surface was to ensure the avoidance of the blood and gore associated with finger chopping 🐇

So the basic method was peel, wash, cut in half, place the halves flat, proceed geometrically to cut across the length say 3-5 times depending on the size of the onions, then painstakingly cut across the width(more like slice) to achieve that almost not there slices of onions that tend to disappear in your pot of food. We all know what follows next. So this was the method for me. As far as I knew. 📏📐

But seeing as I can be a little bit overly meticulous at times🐹, this method was not necessarily satisfactory to the "pros" around me. By pros, I mean the over the pot, in the hand choppers of onions. So it was decided that I had to learn how to do this. I also had to understand that barely there slices of onions were not necessarily the preferred method for most people. As a wise man once said, people like to see what they are eating😉😉😉

I had to proceed on the journey of no return. Believe me when I say, the first few times I tried to do it the "pro" way, I cried mercilessly over the pot of food like it was the burial ceremony of my greatest love🙈🙈🙈 but I assume tears are healthy seeing as no one that ate up my gumbo ended up Dade😁. After those times, I can say, I do it the pro way but only when I'm in a hurry. The rest times which is almost always, I always have my must haves though I make the slices bigger so those involved can see the onions they are paying for I guess 😂😂😂

This doesn't necessarily mean I've stopped crying over my beloved onions but at least not into the pot of food. My most recent cry was 2hours ago. Don't tell my dad though.

So this is my story. These are my onions. 😊😄
Proudly an African woman✌✌✌
Follow, upvote, comment, resteem. Much love people and Merry Christmas 😘😘😘

Sort:  

Nice post.
You could follow back.
Happy christmas

Thanks. Same to you. Followed

Lol
Wehdone!

Thanks😀😀

Never knew such muse could come from things as little as onions.. Lol.
Nice one ma'am

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65718.58
ETH 2677.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91