CHAMPAGNE: A GLASS OF ELEGANCE

in #food7 years ago (edited)

If you have ever had the opportunity to taste a nice glass of Champagne, hopefully you know the level of elegance that exists in the wines. Although there are sparkling wines from all over the world, to be called Champagne, the wine must come from Champagne, France. There are 3 grapes that can be used for Champagne production: Chardonnay which is a white grape, and Pinot Noir and Pinot Meunier, which are red (black). When it is made from only Chardonnay grapes, it is called a Blanc de Blanc, when it it is made from the red grapes it is called a Blanc de Noir.

The production of Champagne starts out like all wines, by fermentation to produce alcohol in a tank of some sort. The difference is that it goes through a secondary fermentation in the bottle. During fermentation, two things are produced, alcohol and carbon dioxide (CO2). When the second fermentation happens, the bottle is sealed and the CO2 is trapped in the wine, hence the bubbles. Because of the pressure that is built up , it has to be sealed with a wire cage over the cork. Also, opening a bottle can be very dangerous. If not held properly, the cork can seriously put an eye out!

champagne.jpg

Champagne does tend to be on the more expensive side, compare to other sparkling wines, but the quality is also generally higher. For a true Champagne, expect to pay $30 US. at a minimum, and up to as much as you want to spend. The price has much to do with the producer (called a Champagne house), vintage, and quality level. Most houses will make non-vintage (NV) blends (cuvee...coo-vay) from several years, as well as a Champagne from a specific vintage year. Vintage Champagnes are tend to be more expensive, and also are usually more complex in flavor and aromas than the NV. They will also usually have a "prestige cuvee", which is the House's top Champagne.

domp.jpg

I have had the opportunity to taste a lot of Champagne in my career, and it is my favorite of all wines to drink. Depending on the producer, they can range in flavors of breadiness and baked apple pie, to crisp citrus notes of lemon curd. Champagne is normally dry, and will be labeled "brut". There are various sweetness levels though, and the range from "extra dry" (which is actually a little sweet) to "demi sec" and "doux", which is like a dessert champagne.

There are several different types of Champagne house as well, the main difference being where they get there grapes from. The two main houses are either "Negociant manipulant" (NM), which source the vast majority of their grapes from other growers. There are also "Recoltant manipulant" (RM), and they can only buy 5% of their total production. RM's are also known as "grower champagne".

barra SC.png
Paul Barra Special Club Rose Champagne, RM

If you are looking for a great celebration bottle, I would highly suggest popping a bottle of Champagne! You will feel like royalty, and it really makes a special occasion even better!!

I am a wine professional, and love sharing my passion for wines with others. I will be writing more articles about wines from around the world, and try to be educational and entertaining. All photos are taken by me at various tastings around town and at my store. If you like what you see, please UPVOTE and FOLLOW for more like this! If you feel that others might like this, a RESTEEM is always appreciated!! Thank you for your interest and support!!

My best to you all...

Sort:  

Excellent post dear friend @thewineman I am not a fan of wine but when I can taste a good bottle of malbec wine, I take mabec because it is the grape that is produced in my country Argentina, sometimes I drink champagne and I take the letter nebada, many Thank you for sharing this excellent material

@nano2nd Thank you for your reply! I will do a malbec review just for you! We have some producers in from Argentina and will be tasting wines from Mendoza and Salta. I appreciate you stopping by to read my post!

Appreciate the education. I've only experienced low quality champagne, but hope to try some real stuff when I have a chance! Thanks for the post!

Thank you @hansenator for the reply! I already have a post in the works about sparkling wines from around the world. Much more affordable to the not so rich and famous. LOL! They are high quality, low dollar. That is what I love about wine, you can have great wines and spend low or high.

I guess I just need to know where to look. Do you order most of yours online?

Well no, I am a lucky guy, I work at a wine shop. I literally taste over 100 wines a week. This is what I do for a living....buy wines for our store and sell the to our customers. Where do you live?

Florida. That's pretty cool. I'm stuck in the teaching business right now... High school math and physics. Fun fun. Lol. Let's say beer and wine are my friend.

HAHA!! that's funny! If you lived here, I would tell you to stay away, but you should check out Total Wine. They have a large selection, and are priced well. I just don't like their sales style.

Beer selection isn't bad either. Lol. Thanks thewineman!

yep yep!! I've been told, by our beer guy at work, that I drink bad beer. Give me a can of Bud Heavy or a Lone Star and I'm happy!! ha!

Excellent post, I love champagne :)
Thanks !!

thank you for saying that! I loooove it!! haha!

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of May 24. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $22.27 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 24 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58176.03
ETH 2475.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40