You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Smoothies For the Lazy (or just the under-motivated)

in #food7 years ago

Looks a lot like my kitchen..lol. I too freeze a lot of veggies and fruits in smaller portions for my smoothies. Try adding spirlina and chorella and make it a "power drink."

Sort:  

Oo, great idea!

How far ahead do you freeze? I'm wondering if it would last a few weeks this way, because I have to anticipate times when I'm more lazy :)

I purchase fresh fruits by the box from local vendors. I freeze some in gallon bags for jams and smoothie portions in smaller bags. They will last a long time in the freezer as long as you get the air out of the bag, use thicker freezer bags and ensure the bag is sealed tight. This helps keep them from getting freezer burn.

Good to know. I've wanted to join one of those organic coops, but was afraid I wouldn't be able to use it all in time. This is a great way to make it last a bit longer!

Fortunately I get most of my fruits and veggies from local organic farmer's We also have some awesome health food stores in Kona and Hilo. I get much better prices from the locals at the Farmer's Market.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66392.28
ETH 3318.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69