To all the wine lovers out there...this is for you; Cheers :-)

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemers,

This is only my second post after my #introduceyourself post. In the latter, I mentioned you would see me post about wine quite often, so I thought I might as well start from there :). I hope you like it and that it ignites you to share your thoughts and experiences as well.

12473924_1182801895081070_7804627658703237523_o (1).jpg
Photo credits: @supernoval

My love story with wine dates many years back, when I was still a child (about 12-13 year old). This was the time my parents decided to build a big vineyard and start producing wine, red wine, exactly the one I am drinking in the picture above.

...and the one inside the bottles herein below..
21039773_1767726513255269_675433076_n.jpg

I remember that everything started as a normal fun activity. I was always present in the meetings my dad had with the vintner (or winemaker). They would be talking and I would be listening, they would be working and I would be watching, they would be tasting wine and I would be tasting wine :).

Slowly but surely then, I started to be very much interested in it. This is when I first learned how to quasi-examine and rate the different qualities of wine (as a little amateur of course ;) ).

21015562_1767726519921935_363377427_n.jpg
I took this picture on a sunny Sunday and the small bench is my favorite handmade bench!

Today, I read and learn about wine on a continuous basis and the more I get to know it, the more I love it. Actually, my aspiration is that some day I will be prepared and brave enough to take over what my parents started and bring it forward...please wish me luck with that :-)

20986465_1767726506588603_96966170_n.jpg
This is me captured by a friend while enjoying this favorite drink of mine.

The production of wine in Albania is actually quite spread and it dates many many years ago. In fact Jancis Robinson, one of my favorite wine critics, on the wine encyclopedia, “The Oxford Companion to Wine” – 1994, writes that: "Albania can claim with some justification to be the cradle of European viticulture".

Oh well, the gorgeous Albanian climate and fertile lands remain a true blessing in so many directions.

Please feel free to satisfy your eye with some images showing Albanian wine-making:

(Source of the following three images: https://vargmal.org/dan5216).
rrushi-berat-05.jpg
Wearing traditional clothes and crushing the grapes in the traditional way.

rrushi-berat-06.jpg
I mean, very sexy crushing :).

rrushi-berat-04.jpg
The process continues...

Now, let's slightly change the subject and talk about how in choosing the right wine to consume, we often become "victims" of certain myths that we hear to be as unwritten laws. More specifically, I will list below five common wine myths that exist out there and I hope you guys find them helpful (source: Jancis Robinson - "The 24-hour Wine Expert"):

12419360_1182801841747742_5925279232088158101_o.jpg
Photo credits: @supernoval

  1. The more expensive the bottle, the better the wine
    Best value bottles retail between £8 and £20. Below £8 there's usually too little left after fixed costs and taxes to pay for the wine, so poor quality is likely. Above £20 and you risk paying for ego, 'positioning' and the vagaries of the fine-wine market.

  2. The heavier the bottle, the better the wine
    Wine producers, particularly in Spanish-speaking countries for some reason, have used thick glass as a marketing tool, but it is very wasteful of the world's resources and most top wine producers are more sensible.

  3. Really good wines come in a bottle with an indentation ('punt') in the base
    Punts are often there for marketing reasons.

  4. Red wine is stronger than white
    Many reds made today are only 12% or less.

  5. Pink wines and sweet wines are for women
    Pur-lease.

20987727_1767726523255268_684250448_n.jpg

This is it from me for tonight dear Steemers.

Please share your thoughts on this as I would love to hear them.

Love to all and keep cheering ;-)

@thesteemamateur

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing! What kind of wine would you recommend to a person who is rather indifferent to the drink?

Thank you for your comment @gurney :).
Now, as a starter , I would suggest you go for the old classic Merlot wine. It never disappoints. If you choose Merlot and Cabernet Sauvignon wine, you'll see that the latter is a thicker and richer version of wine 🍷
Ughh, many other suggestions to write, but don't worry, I'll make sure I put them down on my steemit account.
Keep cheering,
@thesteemamateur

Welcome to Steemit @thesteemamateur, I have upvoted and sent you a tip. Check my blogs if you are looking for tips on how to earn more Steem and SBD.

There is actually some evidence that the famous Pinot Noir grape might originate in Albania, only having been introduced to Burgundy by the dukes of Anjou, who goverened parts of Albania centuries ago.

That is so very interesting and thank you very much :). There is so much we/I don't know about the history that precedes us. We just need to keep exploring I guess. See you around @joergdauscher
@thesteemamateur


Upvoted :) Great post!

Hahaha I love this comment :D. Thanks a lot @needmorestuff
See you around,
@thesteemamateur

I am very happy to listen to every sentence from your post. I get the latest knowledge and experience, thank you for sharing with us, I hope we will continue to be able to communicate and share information through this community, hopefully your day is fun.

Best wishes for you from me,
I have the latest information you might see ..!

Https://steemit.com/indonesia/@ponpase/ayo-intip-keseruan-anak-aceh-di-kancah-nasional-rover-challenge-indonesia

Thank you so much @ponpase. Love hearing such words as they are so motivating :).
It's a pleasure to have you in this platform. Also, nice post and beautiful pictures. Just upvoted it ;)
Cheers and keep Steeming,
@thesteemamateur

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68021.51
ETH 3262.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67