Most Famous Tomato Sauce Recipe? I have to try this!

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Marcella Hazan's Tomato Sauce.

Marcella Hazan was born in Italy and was famous for bringing the first Italian recipes to Europe and the United States.

One of her most famous recipes was her tomato sauce and based on my recreation of her sauce I can see why.

This recipe is probably one of the most simple recipe's I've ever cooked. There are only 5 ingredients.

  • 1 28oz Can of Peeled whole Tomatoes
  • 1 Whole Onion
  • 5 Tablespoons of Butter (I used Earthbalance.)
  • A couple pinches of salt
  • 2 Cups of Water

That didn't seem like much and when I started the recipe I was very skeptical. Then again that's just me I'm always looking for some new recipe to put to the test.

You see I didn't always love cooking. I thrust the task of cooking onto myself when I became vegan. Back in 2010 when I first became vegan there weren't very many fake meats or microwave dinners that were vegan. As time went on cooking grew on me.

Cooking as a vegan has gone through some drastic changes too. There are many more substitutes you can easily grab for a quick meal.

20180521_125925.jpg
These are some of the best tomatoes around.

In the past, I had a few cooking jobs at restaurants like Wendy's, Little Caesars, Dominos and a Mom and Pops shop called Maxwell Street Pizza. If you're from the US you probably are seeing a theme in my employment history. That's right I have worked with a good amount of pizza places. I spent 4 years working at the Mom and Pop's shop and that helped me develop a love for pizza.

20180521_130212.jpg

Spaghetti was my first love in Italian cuisine. In fact, my father made Spaghetti for my pregnant Mom and I was born that very same day. As far back as I can remember I have been helping my Dad make that very same spaghetti and when I went vegan I continued using the sauce recipe without the meat in it. Maybe if there's some interest I'll show you guys that recipe.

20180521_130526.jpg
Butter and Onions Added.

20180521_132539.jpg
45 minutes of cooking uncovered gets you this.

At this point in the recipe, you can remove the onion if you don't like onions or you can blend/chop it up and mix it with the sauce. Some people have been known to do all kinds of interesting things with the onion.

I suggest copping it up and tossing it on some garlic bread. Then you can proceed to devour it without looking back. After you've eaten half of it already before the pasta is done I suggest copping the remaining onion up and topping your pasta with this delicious food.

20180521_134904_001-ANIMATION.gif
Make your pasta of Choice.

20180521_140243.jpg
Mix that beautiful sauce up with your pasta.

Generally, if you're eating a pasta like spaghetti you may want to toss the pasta with a bit of olive oil then top the pasta with the sauce. I usually have no real preference here and will eat it either way.

20180521_142453.jpg
Add some Cracked Pepper and Devour!

My honest opinion is that alone this sauce was amazing.

When I added pasta it seemed to muddle the flavor of the sauce more than I would have liked. So what I suggest is that you make spaghetti or angel hair pasta that doesn't carry as much water as the Penne I used did.

Here's the list of ingredients again:

  • 1 28oz Can of Peeled whole Tomatoes
  • 1 Whole Onion
  • 5 Tablespoons of Butter (I used Earthbalance.)
  • A couple pinches of salt
  • 2 Cups of Water

This recipe was extremely easy to make. Simply put all of the ingredients into a saucepan and let simmer for 45 minutes. Break up any big tomato chunks left if there are any.

Thank you all so much and I hope you enjoy this recipe.

Be Exellent to Eachother.

Sort:  

Congratulations @theserene! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34