You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lentils for the New Year - Another tradition

in #food5 years ago (edited)

My goodness, what a great recipe!
I love lentils for a variety of reasons, one of them is that they are a very economic food. I advise friends who are not so well off to stock up on lentils (and also rice) because with funds being tight, you always would have plenty to eat, getting much of your protein needs from lentils.
I lived in Canada for many years, and there, out of necessity, I had to practice "self-defense cooking" (my partner was not a good cook, lol). I am originally from Austria, and my mother sent me a Viennese cookbook by the Austrian chef Franz Ruhm - called "Perlen der Wiener Küche".



In it also a recipe for lentils. That recipe calls for using pork rinds, but pork hocks would definitely be a good choice. He suggested a fried egg on top of the dish.
But your recipe takes this to an all new level! I can't wait to try it out!
PS: the garlic and salt trick I use as well - but without a mortar, I just squash it with the broad side of the kitchen knife. The salt absorbs the juices so nothing is lost.

Sort:  

You're right, using the salt trick the is mortar not necessary.
In Venezuela is commonly used the pig's trotters for lentils, beans, etc. I hope you try it out, I promise it 'll be great!
Your book looks intriguing...! I'd like to have a look at this Viennese pearls 😋

Thank you for your time and your comment.

BTW: Die Deutsche Version dieses Beitrags ist jetzt auch erreichbar! 🤩

Pigs Trotters: yes, they are often used here in Vienna also - from Czech and Hungarian tradition mostly.
About the cookbook: I had translated (and altered them my way) some of the recipes for my friends. Most recently for my ex wife (she still doesn't know how to cook, lol) Goulash, Paprika Chicken and Rouladen Recipe - on my Google Drive.
Somewhere in my files I have scans of all the pages, but can't find it right now, which makes me think, if I do find them, I should just publish them on scribd.
The cookbook is not easily found - no hits on Amazon (sold out), but seen some on Abe Books: Perlen der Wiener Küche and on ebay from Germany, with a few others by Franz Ruhm.

About those recipes I was looking for: I found them, they were scanned JPG pages. I just now uploaded them to Flickr, so you can check them out on there:
https://www.flickr.com/photos/artofthemystic/albums/72157675398970587

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.36
ETH 3076.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81