My oven-baked omelet

in #food9 months ago

IMG_20230525_113819.jpg

Becoming a huge omelet fan

I love eating omelets.
Having lived a few years in the UK, I acquired a taste for a nicely fried omelet.
In fact, I also enjoy eating nicely cooked scrambled eggs, soft boiled eggs, and other egg-based dishes.
As a young child, I can recall my grandfather’s sister making me delicious soft boiled eggs; I can still remember the wonderful taste of the yolk melting in my mouth.
When it comes to comparing an omelet with a boiled egg, there are people, like my father, who would like to have an omelet rather than a boiled egg.

Making fried vs. oven-baked omelet

I believe that most people are more familiar with fried omelet than with oven-baked omelet.
Perhaps a key reason for this is that fried omelet is faster and easier to make than omelet made in the oven.
On the other hand, even though an oven-baked omelet takes more time to cook, the end result looks more impressive and is perhaps more tasty.
When you make a fried omelet, you have to flip it, in order for it to be evenly cooked on both sides, otherwise the top side may end up being a bit raw.
This problem can be avoided with a slowly-cooked, oven-baked omelet, where the top side takes a nice brown color, the omelet is perfectly baked inside, and thus you don’t need to flip it.
An oven-baked omelet may be a healthier option than a fried one, because, when making an oven-baked omelet, you only have to sprinkle and spread some oil or fat on the baking tin to keep the omelet from sticking to the tin.
On the other hand, without even realizing it, you may end up adding more oil or fat to a fried omelet than expected or recommended, and too much of this fried oil or fat is not healthy for you.

What I like adding to my oven-baked omelet

The first ingredient that comes to mind when making an omelet in the oven is cheese.
I usually add feta cheese, but other types of cheese, such as Gouda, can be a good option, although different types of cheese give a different texture to the omelet.
For example, Gouda cheese gives a more melting texture.
Green peppers are another ingredient that I often add to an oven omelet.
By adding vegetables like greens peppers to the omelet, I can get extra nutritional ingredients, such as a vitamin C boost, for example.
In this way, a plain oven-baked omelet can be turned into a full meal, and why not, a superfood.
Onions are one of my favorite ingredients to add, and they can really give a sweet and spicy flavor to the omelet. However, since not all people are fans of onions, when I also cook for others, I have to ask them before adding any onions.
Sausages can be a perfect addition to eggs, and I have found out that most people would never say no to such a delicious combination.
On top of that, mushrooms can be added to an oven omelet, and they can really make the omelet’s flavor richer.
I could also add milk, either fresh or canned, which would cause the omelet to have a more liquid texture, or even flour, which would make the omelet denser.
Finally by adding blanched and drained spinach, I would get an omelet that would somehow look and taste like quiche.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64008.01
ETH 3308.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93