BBQ Pulled "Pork"/ Jackfruit

in #food6 years ago

I've always wanted to cook with a jackfruit mainly because they are weird as hell looking. Last week I took a journey to H Mart. There I found half a jackfruit already and thought why not. I had seen a video stating jackfruit could be used like pulled pork for a bbq sandwich. As a meat eater, I thought bullshit but I was wrong. It came out pretty delicious and I'm sure I wasn't the best at cooking it. But here is the basic way to do it if you're interested in reducing meat in your diet like I am.

Half a jackfruit(4lbs)
1/2 cup dark beer
1 tbs salt
1tbs pepper
3/4 cup bbq sauce
1tbs liquid smoke
Any other seasoning you desire on pulled "pork"

So the jackfruit I got was a little too ripe but its fine, however, I do suggest getting jackfruit in the can as it is a lot easier to prepare. Basically cut out the core in the middle and take out the fruit the is covering the seeds and discard the seeds. the white pulp mixture can be used along with the yellow fruit but I did not. Once done you should be left with below.

After that season and let marinade for up to two hours I got a bit creative and added some more things than listed

Take a skillet and turn to medium-high heat, add the beer and liquid smoke and cook down till the beer evaporates stirring constantly. once the beer is gone add the bbq sauce and seasoning and reduce heat cook until jackfruit is tender and pulls apart when pressure is applied.

Once done add to bun and anytoppings you like and enjoy

Sort:  

Congratulations @themaxx8717! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @themaxx8717! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66504.03
ETH 3578.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.03