Simple Fare for a cold winters evening - Lamb StewsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food8 years ago (edited)

In South Africa it gets really hot in summer and then we eat a lot of salads and generally a lot less cooked meals like casseroles, curries, oven bakes (vegetable and other) and stews. We have some cooler weather so I decided to make my favorite winter meal (Curries are right up there though)…… Lamb Stew .

Lovely fresh herbs from the garden, Thyme, Origanum and of course Rosemary

I am using lamb knuckle and neck. This type of dish does not need careful measurements as would baking a cake … it is a lot of gut feel and tasting. I do not taste as I have been cooking this way for 30 years. One could say I know my way around a good stew.

These are the ingredients I am using and yes, potato’s are absent although usually they are an integral part of this dish. I am on a low carb diet trying to lose some weight hence the sacrifice. Also I would use a lot more mushrooms but that was all I had in the fridge.

So let us go through the process starting with the small bowl of flour and spices. I threw in paprika, cumin, salt and pepper. I place this in a plastic shopping bag, add the meat and shake up so the meat is coated in the flour mix.

I mix my chicken stock ( I use chicken stock for lamb and beef…and beef stock for chicken..one can also use vegetable stock) and let it stand while I start cooking. Sautee the onions and garlic and a few bay leaves in some olive oil over a medium heat. When done (translucent and slightly browning) remove from pot.

Add some more olive oil to the pot and add the meat, not too much at a time, and brown the meat until all is done.

Return the onions and garlic to the pot and add a glass of good wine to the pot, I used a 2012 Allesverloren Shiraz… my favorite part as the smell is fantastic. Cover and simmer for a few minutes.

Add the tomato mix and fresh herbs, stir and once again simmer for a short while before adding the carrots, mushrooms and stock (at this stage you add whatever vegetables you have decided to use except for the softer types as the stew will now simmer over a low heat for around two hours.

After an hour I add the cauliflower as this does not take so long to cook and I do not wish it to be mushy.

Simmer for a further forty five minutes open to reduce and thicken the sauce.

Voila !!!

For all of you who are heading into winter…. Take note of this …it is really tasty and freezes well .

Of course, all the vegetable peels and cutoffs go into the collection bucket for our compost maker

Thanks for reading !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60907.24
ETH 3249.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45