In The Kitchen - Aubergine Pizza Slices

in #food6 years ago

Tuesday is the day I make dinner as @fempower has her karate training on this evening. I was feeling rather lazy so decided to just get a pre-made pizza from the supermarket and jazz it up a bit. Now my girl... she does not eat pizza generally so I decided to spoil her with her favourite food...aubergine, also know as brinjal or egg plant.

I believe that excellent purveyor of fine healthy food @amy-goodrich will be happy with this as a meal


Imgur

As is my usual way of doing cooking, I made it up as I went using what was available in the fridge and pantry.


Imgur


Ingredients - Aubergine, Brie Cheese, basic fresh tomato sauce (or bottled pasta sauce), chilli paste (optional), cheddar cheese, shaved salami and fresh basil

Slice the aubergines into thick slices, approximately two centimetres thick and pan grill preferably on a heavy base griddle pan. I did not have one so used a flat heavy based pan.
To pan grill I placed a few tablespoons coconut oil in the pan and when hot placed the aubergine into the pan and grilled for two minutes on one side then turned over and grilled the second side


Imgur

Pre- heat the oven to 180 degrees celsius (350 Fahrenheit). While the oven is warming remove the slices from the pan and dress them. I added half a teaspoon of chilli paste to the tomato sauce and spread a thin layer on top of each slice, then seasoned well with himalayan ground salt and crushed black pepper. I then put slivers of brie cheese and salami and grated cheddar cheese over the entire surface of the aubergine.

I believe mozzarella would be a better option for the melted cheese as it does not overwhelm the delicate aubergine flavor, but my girl is not a mozzarella fan.... and she was the one I was out to impress {smile}


Imgur


I left some partially covered to demonstrate the approach I took

Put them on a tray and place them in the heated oven and allow to cook for 8 - 10 minutes .... generally once the cheese has melted throughout then the aubergine will be cooked.

Remove from oven and serve..


Imgur

The verdict was 'Simply delicious... please do again whenever you feel the urge.'

Brownie points banked {grin}


Imgur)

Thanks for reading and as always... the continued support.




Sort:  

Nice post...
Thank for sharing...
Please upvote my post friend...

Wow ... you make a pizza from a very unique eggplant. Looks like I need to try to make it at home. Thank you for the recipe friend. May you always be healthy and happy @themagus.

Thank you future whale {smile} ....

Hehe .. Thank you very much for your support my friend. Hopefully I soon become a big fish. 😊😊

hopefully we can become good friends ... i will follow what you say and i hope not upvote it is useless. thank you for sharing our important information

Thanks very good

If you like the good food https://steemit.com/food/@kelos/french-restaurant

Thanks for the response, I shall go check your recipe out !!

good food delicious my friend .. i like to post you friend .. please is my blog ya my good friend ya

Thanks buddy.

please help me upvote friend once my good friend ya .. i really need help from you friend

food is very tasty, I really like photography @themagus, please visit my blog.

Very good post my friend. I like it your sharing.

a very good post, and a very good meal so want to eat it.

Looks delicious. I think this is a great delicious dinner.

@themagus, mmm I love aubergine, btw just wanted to let you know that I nominated you take part in the 7 day Black and White photo Challenge in my last post.

Ahhhh, thank you. Thanks for stopping by and I shall certainly take up the challenge

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58617.29
ETH 3164.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44