Dining Out - De Seekat, Paternoster on the West Coast

in #food7 years ago

As reported here this past weekend we drove up the West Coast. I will make a separate post on the West Coast itself but today I will conclude the Dining Out part of the weekend.

dwarskersbos.jpg

Dwarskersbos beach

My lady does not enjoy seafood but I do and as the West Coast is renowned for fresh fish I was keen to try some. We decided Sunday lunch would be my opportunity at a small town named Paternoster

Paternoster is one of the oldest fishing villages on the West Coast of South Africa. It is situated 15 km north-west of Vredenburg and 145 km north of Cape Town, at Cape Columbine between Saldanha Bay and St Helena Bay.
Wikipedia

I solicited some advice from my work colleagues as to the best seafood restaurant and De Seekat got the vote.

themagus.jpg
Yours truly sampling some of the local craft beer, BoneCrusher named in honor of the oft (wrongly) maligned Hyena

Like the shirt guys and gals.... {grin}

Okay, I am ducking the issue here. The food. So from a very limited menu we decided to share the 'Salt and Pepper' calamari.
The calamari was cooked brilliantly but the description was not representative of the seasoning on the calamari. There were six strips for $5 ... sort of raised our eyebrows.

For the mains my girl decided on the Steak Burger and I went with the Calamari and Prawn Salad

Steakburgerjpg.jpg
Steak Burger and Chips

To my mind this was very disappointing as the steaks were less than a centimeter thick and overcooked despite medium being the choice. Nonetheless, my less fussy partner dealt with it in short order

calamariprawnsalad.jpg
Calamari and Prawn Salad which set me back $11 (R120)

Now the calamari on that plate is the exact calamari preparation which was served as 'Salt and Pepper' in the starter. Equally well prepared I must admit. The TWO prawns were unfortunately soggy and fairly tasteless, obviously cooked from frozen (my opinion) .... and the size of the portions was very disappointing. Not much else to say about the restaurant I am afraid.

Overall, not a great dining experience which led me to have another Bonecrusher {smile}

Thanks for reading ... as always.

Sort:  

Being a Freestyle Glutton, I would definitely not be happy with that portion.( do your Colleagues perhaps own shares in the Restaurant?) The area certainly looks great though.

I was certainly not impressed .... I cannot understand the recommendation, but to be fair the food in the restaurants were all below standard or Spur type food. We are clearly spoilt here in Cape Town.
I have lost the usb cable for my camera so have not been able to blog about the West Coast in general. Hopefully this will happen soon. Thanks for the response.

My Pleasure, look forward to more tales of your journey.

Congratulations @themagus! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Great pics
Upvoted followed

Thank you kindly...for the comments and the follow. Will check your blog out @jatinarora

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59999.40
ETH 2646.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44