Vegan Dessert: Indonesian Traditional Layers Cake - Lapis Beras

in #food7 years ago (edited)

My childhood cake, made of rice flour, tapioca starch and glutinous rice flour. It is a traditional cake as Indonesian original cakes didn't use any butter, only when the Dutch invaded Indonesia, we learned about butter. Many of our (traditional) cakes were mainly steamed before we learned about butter (and later margarine).

1516410587376.jpg

Many Indonesians cakes, sweets, desserts and dishes use coconut milk, so we have creamy and rich goodies, which some would say too fatty, but not this gal 😂

Our traditional cakes have two categories of "wet" cake and "dry" cake. While dry are mainly baked (cakes, cookie, snacks), our "wet" cakes are also dessert type, like this following layer cake.

That being said, plenty of Indonesian cakes/desserts are actually vegan. Those vegans who live in Indonesia often say Indonesia is heaven for vegans, not just for the fresh fruits, but various veggies and desserts.

Anyhoo, I talk too much, here is the recipe 😀

1516409844378.jpg

Ingredients

  • 130 g each tapioca starch and rice flour
  • 30 g glutinous rice flour
  • 120 g sugar
  • 2 cans of coconut milk (600 ml)
  • a pinch or two of salt
  • 2 screw-pine leaves (fragrant Pandanus), tied in knots
  • Pandan paste and cocopandan paste (you can use food colors, but do check the ingredients - Wilton is vegan friendly)

1516407575224.jpg

How To

  • Bring coconut milk and pandanus leaves to a light boil, simmer for 5 minutes, cool to room temperature

1516407766496.jpg

  • Meanwhile, mix flours, starch and sugar in a bowl

1516407602699.jpg

  • Once coconut milk is cooled, pour into flour mixture and stir to combine and no lumps

1516407798661.jpg

1516407840275.jpg

  • Divide batter into 3, add pastes to the other two and leave the 3rd as is.

1516407944004.jpg

1516409681633.jpg

  • Preheat steamer, brush mold lightly with vegetable oil

1516407906487.jpg

  • Once steamer is ready, pour some of the white batter, steam for 5 minutes, followed with other batter, alternating colors each time, and steam 5 minutes each time.

1516409719719.jpg

  • To avoid steam water drips onto cake, cover the pan with clean tea towel, then top with pan lid

1516409770514.jpg

  • Once all batter used up, steam the whole cake for 25 minutes
  • Cool completely before slicing (aaand here is when I wasn't patient enough as the smell was so good 😂 so as you can see, my slices aren't neat!)

1516409904751.jpg

Note: for easier slicing, wrap your knife with cling wrap (as cake is sticky/wet) - if not, brush knife with vegetable oil before slicing


Thanks For Looking!




Sort:  

Bisa dijual tuh di Kanada. Sambil promosi makanan khas indonesia.

Jualan disini kalau makanan Ga tahan lama Susah dapetin ijinnya 😂 kue basah dr indo kan cuman tahan 2 Harian, kecuali Di taruh Di kulkas

Oh gt...btw di Kanada Komunitas Steemit sudah besar ya?

Ahh I remember that (such a long memory it is, I still see it when I go home XD). Always like seeing things that remind me of home XP

goatsig

Yeah! I bet you have them in Malaysia (and Singapore and Thailand) too 😉

I work as a tutor for an Indonesian family and they always give me vegan Indonesian snacks and treats to snack on and I have always wondered how they make this cake! 🌱 ⭐️

Thank you for sharing the recipe, now I can finally make it myself 😆 I just hope I will be able to find all the ingredients here in South Africa! ☀️

Wow, hope u can try make this delicious recipe in south africa!
Good luck! 😊

My pleasure

For the flour and starch, if there is Asian stores, usually they have those, for the paste if you cannot find, just use vanilla essence and food coloring (that are vegans obv)

Here in East Timor there's this cake, it's so yummy!

I bet! 😂

Envy you to be able to have Indo goodies there in East Timor. Here in Canada I have to prepare myself 😂

I couldn't make it ;)... Have fun preparing it!

I don't think I can find single ingredient in my local shop, but that's look so delicious that I must tried it one day :)

Dejan where abouts are you? I know your name is Slav/European, not sure where exactly you are from tho, but if you have Asian stores, usually they carry the flour and starch. Coconut milk you can make yourself if you have dessicated coconut

Pandanus leaf is only for the fragrant, omit is fine

As for the paste, just subs with vanilla flavoring and food coloring

That may work :) I am from Serbia and I ask few friends - it seams that we have few Asian food stores in Chinese part of town... with some luck I may find almost everything :)
Thank you for your help ;)

Congratulations @thekitchenfairy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63057.34
ETH 2546.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64