How To Prepare Pho Broth From Scratch - Spinach Rice Vermicelli Soup

in #food6 years ago

Happy Saturday friends!

How's your Saturday so far? I spent about 2 H of my morning keeping up with Kardashi....I mean #thealliance members, as we had pow wow this morning. Good chat guys, thank you 👍 I had to excuse myself as it was time for tidying up the house a.k.a playing Minecraft with my 4 yo 😂 See, I know my priorities 😂 So yeah, my Saturday is going good so far.

I am thinking of lazy weekends for us as all things are done anyways. I made burrito for lunch earlier but we also have broth leftover from our dinner last night, of pho, which I will be sharing the recipe with this blog. Plants are watered, house is mopped, Jumanji is waiting, so yeah, lazy weekends it is, yay 💃

Now for pho recipe.

I was checking up stocks in the pantry and saw that I still had a bag of spinach rice vermicelli. Didn't feel like making friend vermicelli, so I said to the fam., "let's have Vietnamese noodle soup, but instead flat rice noodle, we'd use the spinach rice vermicelli instead".

1520712816081.jpg

Here I am sharing you how to prepare vegan pho broth from scratch, which I kid you not, tastes as good as original pho broth using bones.

1520712906837.jpg

Broth

  • 1 box of veggie/pho broth (4 c)
  • 3 tbsp of soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  • 8 c of water
  • 6 dried shiitake mushrooms
  • 6 garlic, crushed
  • 1 thumb of ginger, skinned, thinly slice

1520712630074.jpg

  • 1/2 of a large onion, thinly sliced

1520712673529.jpg

  • 5 stems of basil (just the stems)
  • 12 stems cilantro (stems and leaves)
  • 3 cinnamon sticks

1520712650344.jpg

  • 3 star anise
  • freshly cracked black pepper

How To

  • Bring everything a full boil for 5 minutes, cover, then simmer for an H

1520712700626.jpg

  • Strain broth, discard species and whatnot (reserve mushrooms though!), pour broth back into the pot, drop in 1 veggie cube or season with Vegeta powder, and keep it warm.

1520712732844.jpg

Noodle Soup

  • Wash clean basil leaves, bean sprouts, and cilantro. Place on a plate
  • Slice cooked shiitake mushrooms
  • Slice enough green onion
  • Bring enough water to a boil, drop in bokchoy, enoki mushrooms, and spinach rice vermicelli, for 3-5 mins, drain

1520712766890.jpg

  • Place enough noodle, bokchoy, enoki and shitake mushoorms on a bowl, pour broth
  • Serve with fresh veggies, Sriracha, Hoisin sauce and lime juice

Bon appetit 👍👍👍👍

1520712870980.jpg

Thanks For Looking!



This @bearone's banner, makes my blog looks better 😉






Looky, looky, what @enginewitty made me, isn't it a cutie 😊

Sort:  

My mouth is watering now :) - will have to try it soon x

Let me know how you like it 😊

😋 Yummy... Mummy 😂 I have to say this looks absolutely delicious. I love nudles and mushrooms and vegetables and this soup has it all. Definitely something I would love to eat.
I have to try this one. Thank you for sharing this sweetie 😉 great dish.
Have a wonderful Sunday. Much love 🤗💕💕

My pleasure and i know, I am so slow in replying, it's Tuesday already here😂😂😂😂

❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.16
ETH 3485.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50