Homemade Strawberry Jam

in #food5 years ago

Hi Steemians!

Did you guys power up today? It is SPUD today :)

I did not power up today as I already did yesterday, and the day before it. In total, I powered up 4 times since the 26th. Felt good altho people I know are powering down. I still think my wallet is my bank :P Yes, I do know the value keeps falling, but let me be :P

Anyway...Today I would like to share a quicky recipe to make your own strawberry jam :D

I shared the other day how my family and I went strawberry picking, which you can read here: https://steemit.com/powerhousecreatives/@thekitchenfairy/u-pick-strawberry-is-always-fun-for-the-family So we have been consuming strawberries now and then. The kids love them with sugar sprinkled. These berries (when strawberry is not actually a berry lol) are so juicy altho small in size.

My recipe makes 1 medium size Mason jar and most likely would be good for a week or so in the fridge, although I doubt it would last that long in this house. My husband loves strawberry jam much lol

Come take a look at the steps how I made the jam :D

First, slice off the stems and give the berry a quick but thorough rinse, then place them berries into a pot and add in sugar.

With a fork or potato masher, squeeze them berries into juice, leaving some rough chunks still.

Then you want to reduce the liquid and dissolving the sugar, so bring the berries to boil for 8 minutes.

After 8 minutes, quickly stir in maple syrup and lemon juice.

Take off pot from heat. Then quickly add in chia seeds and stir. Let mixture stand to room temperature before pouring into jar and your jam is ready :D

Easy peasy, right? I do not like spending tons of times at the kitchen, when I do not have to, especially in Summer, so my recipes are often that easy ;-)

Store jam in the fridge for 7-10 days :D

Bon appetit!

Recipe

  • 650 g strawberries
  • 1/4 c sugar
  • 1 1/2 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1/4 c chia seeds

Steps

  • Clean strawberries
  • Add in sugar
  • Bring to boil
  • Add in syrup and juice
  • Take off from heat, stir in seeds
  • Let stand to cool, store and enjoy :D

Thanks for looking!


Vote Witnesses!

https://steemit.com/~witnesses OR
https://v2.steemconnect.com/sign/account-witness-vote?witness=thekitchenfairy&approve=1


If you leave ANY link on my blog, I WILL flag you down. This is to avoid phishing and shits

Sort:  

Niiiiice. With chia :)
Would love to try your jam.
Looks delicious.
Resteemed

It looks so tasty, the chia seeds is a nice twist to the classic jam:)

Hallo kak @thekitchenfairy apa kabar, masih bergelut dengan esperimen makanan ya .😊

Coincidentally my youngest asked a few days ago if we could make strawberry jam, sadly we don’t ha e enough strawberries and he’d eat them all anyway 🤣

I haven’t powered up yet because I magic number these things and I haven’t hit my magic number (and with the way things are going probably won’t for a while, may have to adjust down again 🤣)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27