Creamy Pasta (Mock Mac and Cheese)

in #food7 years ago (edited)

While we all like any sorts of homemade vegan mac and cheese in this house (what's not to like, they are packed with goodies, creamier, yummier and healthier, if I may say so myself!), my 3 year old doesn't like it freshly made. He would only have it the next day 😅😅😅😅 I do find them to be more to commercial texture-similar, when they are a day old from the fridge, so that could be why 🤔🤔

😂😂😂😂 (Yeah, can't help myself but giggling)

1503325191335.jpg

Beside for the family's menu, this is also great to serve if you have a potluck, brunch gathering, or someone or two visiting!

1/2 c raw cashew, soak in hot boiling water for at least 20 mins

Bring to boil, and cook til soften:

2 potatoes, cubed
6 baby carrots, sliced
1-3 tbsp diced celery stalk
1/2 of a small onion, chopped
1/2 of an orange/yellow bell pepper, sliced
1/2 c of shredded chayote

Meanwhile, cook:
4-5 c dry macaroni
Enough hot boiling water to cover macaroni

Cook on high in microwave for 9-12 mins

Once cashew is soften, drain and place into blender along with 1/4 c coconut milk and 1/4 c water from the veggie pot. Process until smooth, pour into a bowl

Take out veggies from pot wity slotted spoon and place into blender. Add in 3/4 c veggie water from pot and process until smooth.

Mix in puree veggies into cashew mixture

Stir in 2 tbsp nutritional yeast
1 tbsp lemon juice
Salt and garlic powder to taste

Drain cooked macaroni and mix with 'sauce'

Sprinkle with cayenne powder, sweet paprika powder and flake parsley (or chives)

Serve (makes for at least 6 adult servings)

Aaaaand yes, obviously that is my plate shown in the picture. I do like sprinkling cayenne powder on my dish(es) 😉

Sort:  

This is awesome, I need to try it.

You really should! Tons of vegan mac and cheese recipes online, they are wonderful. When I first learned how to make creamy pasta with potatoes and carrots, I just explored it from there by adding various veggies. Always in love 😀😀😀😀 Nooch is soooo good in flavoring the mac and cheese 😍

And I just checked you (yeah nosy much ✌️) and yay you are vegan 🌱🌱🌱 following you back!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57824.98
ETH 3133.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42