Baked Berliner - Jam Filled Doughnuts

in #food6 years ago (edited)

What do you do when someone is craving for doughnuts but you don't have no oil to fry? Baked doughnuts it is then, sorry baby ❤️

Little babe loves fried doughnuts, who doesn't, right? But he was pretty happy with the baked ones, so all was good. He preferred them doughtnuts unfilled though, so it's like he was just eating buns 😂😂😂😂

1518128068699.jpg

I didn't think to shape the doughnuts into rings as I thought I'd fill them with jam and turned them into Berliner, but apparently he just wanted some sweet bread.

I used pastry & cake flour mixed with all purpose, you can use only all purpose or even bread flour. I needed to use up my pastry & cake flour in the pantry, so I mixed it with all purpose flour.

1518128091332.jpg

Ingredients

  • 1 1/3 c coconut milk beverage (not canned coconut for cooking/baking)
  • 1/4 c sugar
  • 2 1/2 tsp active dry yeast
  • 2 c AP flour mixed with 1 1/4 c pastry & cake flour (all AP flour and bread flour would give fluffier donuts either baked or fried FYI)
  • a pinch of salt
  • 2 tbsp vegan margarine
  • Strawberry jam
  • Icing sugar

How To

  • Heat coconut milk beverage to lukewarm (40 seconds microwaved)
  • Stir in sugar into milk, sprinkle milk with yeast, let stand for 5 minutes until bloomed
  • Mix flour, salt in a bowl, cut in margarine, make a well in center

1518128203041.jpg

  • Pour bloomed yeast into flour and knead
  • Cover with cling wrap and let rise for 45 mins

1518128256003.jpg

  • Punch down dough and knead a little, then roll flat but not thin, cut into circles
  • Let rise again for 30 minutes

1518128311864.jpg

  • Preheat oven to 350 F and bake for 25 mins
  • Cool on rack
  • Poke holes on donuts side and fill with jam (microwave enough jam for 20 seconds, stir, then fill)
  • Coat donuts with icing sugar

1518127842914.jpg

Ta-daaaaa 😊

Thanks For Looking!


This @bearone's banner, makes my blog looks better 😉




Looky, looky, what @enginewitty made me, isn't it a cutie 😊

Sort:  

They look so delicious @thekitchenfairy!

Many thanks 😊

My sons love Homer so much they demanded the Simpsons Lego, and boy that was a pain to build, so many pieces 😂

Kayaknya kok enak.. istriku tak suruh bikin deh pake resep ini hehehe.. Nuwun Mbak :)

Sama2 mas, tapi disana pakai susu UHT Aja, jangan pakai Santan

Disini ada coconut milk tapi bukan Santan, melainkan Santan super encer, yg bisa disajikan begitu saja, seperti minuman 😂

Siap Mbak :)

Yummy! You're just making me hungry. Thank You!

Sorry 😁 my pleasure!

Tasty 😍

I am drooling! These look so scrumptious and easy to make too! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

They were very good fresh. I left out a couple overnight, and they turned hard the next morning, I was wondering if it was due to the coconut milk beverage. I normally use almond, soy, or cashew, and buns would stay soft the next day.

Sometimes I find that coconut milk doesn't work as well for me as almond or soy.

I see

The ones I kept in Tupperware stayed soft, but the ones I left on a plate hardened

You can freshen those by popping the microwave for a few seconds...I hate to waste a good donut!

Didn't waste many, just the two that were for test trial 😁

Didn't think of microwaving it 😌

Just when I thought running out of oil would stop me from eating the naughty stuff LOL... These look amazing!

Many thanks, lady!

Baked doughnuts has the texture of buns, unlike fried doughnuts 😂 but either one is dangerous for me as I can't stop for only one 😌

Ini salah satu kue favorit anak aq tiap pagi mbak. Dia doyan lapisan luarnya aja.

Anakku malah ga suka 😂 mungkin terlalu Manis kalau pakai gula bubuk, karena isinya sudah selai Manis 😁

Beda klo yang disini mbak. Disini klo ga ada lapisan gula, malah ga manis. Makanya mereka makan lapisan gulanya aja.. Beda ma buatan sendiri.. hehehe

Yum! Those look fantastic!
Isn't it funny how we make these big plans, and the kids just want to keep it simple? Same thing happens here. lol

I know, right? 😂 How are you ❤️

Silly kiddos.
I'm good! We had a lazy Family Day weekend... wee man is sick with another cold. So he gets an extra long weekend, since I kept him home today too. How are you?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01