🎅 Show the CHRISTMAS DISH that comes from your country and WIN STEEM! [FOODspedition #15]

in #food6 years ago


For me, Christmas has always been special because of the traditional Polish cuisine! Of course, meetings with family, atmosphere and gifts are also important, but for Christmas dishes I truly waited for the whole year. In my home we always had some dishes on the table, which the preparation in a "normal day" takes a lot of time, so we don't see them too often. However, Christmas has always been an opportunity to pull out old cookbooks and prepare something special.

I think that on your Christmas tables you can also find many fantastic, traditional dishes. And they will be the theme of this special round of FOODspedition!
The prize pool in this round is 6 STEEM!

How to take part in the FOODspedition?


➡ In the comment show us a picture of the traditional Christmas dish that comes from your country.
➡ Write its name and describe it briefly.
➡ In the comment, add also something about Christmas traditions coming from your country.

Important! If you are using an image that you are not the author please enter its source. I will check the entries and if the author does not provide the source of the photo or description he uses will be disqualified.

Members of the FOODspedition, who will take photos or prepare the whole dish on their own, have a much more chance to win a prize.


What you can win?


From your comments I will choose and award three, in my opinion, the most interesting entries, and the authors will receive prizes! In the prize pool of that round we have 6 STEEM!



How to make an entry?


I will show you this on the example of a dish, which for me is an absolute symbol of Christmas in my home.
It will be my first Christmas away from my home country, so instead of posting my photo, I had to borrow it for you from here.



Name: Cabbage & mushroom dumplings
Country: Poland

Info: Because of the long preparation time this dish was served on our table basically only on Christmas. But it was worth waiting!
To prepare these treats we are using sauer cabbage and mushrooms. But not such shop mushrooms! We are using true ones, smelling of forest and dried in the sun. This changes everything! The taste that is also built up by spices such as bay leaf, fresh ground pepper and cumin it is simply amazing!
Together with my grandmother we always prepared a large portion of dumplings for the whole family. We made up to 300 dumplings, so there was no fear that they wouldn't be enough for the whole Christmas. 😎

And now it's time for your entry!
Show us the Christmas dish that comes from your country in the comment!

Good luck & have fun!


If you love good food, like me, resteem this post! Thanks to this we will see more delicious food from all over the world. ??



All funds collected under this post will be transferred to
STEEMtruck Project account.

Send a donation via Fundition.io to support the STEEMtruck Project ?

Sort:  

Name: "Christmas dinner"
Country: Venezuela
This "Christmas dinner" is made up of Pork leg baked over medium heat for several hours to make it juicy and smooth. I've mentioned hen salad in a different salad contest :P has a parboiled and crumbled hen, potato, carrot and peas. the "hallaca" is made with precooked corn flour and stuffed with a stew of: chicken, pork and beef, well cooked with onion, garlic porro, chives, olives, capers and raisins. they wrap it in banana leaves and boil it for cooking, it is very delicious but this recipe varies from region to region. Finally we have the "bread of ham" a semi sweet bread stuffed with smoked ham, raisins, olives and sometimes bacon.

It is a very elaborate dinner that requires the collaboration of the whole family.

This looks awesome @joseangelvs! Thank you for your entry!

Loading...

0.jpg 3IMG1194A.jpg
Name:Breast lumps.
country: Venezuela

INFO:Hello friends of Steemit, Merry Christmas.

I hope they are well and that they have spent a very amusing Christmas, here in Venezuela the tradition and the Christmas food are the hallacas and the spicy buns of my mom, the wait for the birth of the baby Jesus is one of the traditions in my town all united we sang aguinaldos, carols and very happy for the arrival of the child god.
4IMG1188A.jpgIMG1187A.jpg
Everyone in the Family collaborates in this elaboration of the hallacas, which have ingredients
Corn flour, meat stew with pork, red and green paprika chopped in julienne, raisins, olives and capers, chopped onion julienne and chicken desmenusado. All this is placed in the hallaca, wrapped in banana leaves, first a ball of dough made of small corn is crushed in the banana leaf and previously washed. With a little oil so that it does not stick to the leaf, then it is filled with stew of meat, chicken, olive, paprika, onion, raisins and capers, they are folded into a square shape until they cover the filling, they are wrapped with the banana leaf and tie with wick as if they were a gift. Then they are placed in a pot with boiling water until they are ready.
All this we do as a family in my town, with joy and togetherness that is the most important thing in a family, I thank God for this beautiful family and everything went well now I am going to taste my mother's hallacas.
5IMG1190A.jpg

Amazing entry @yumifer, thank you!

Hola!! creo que debes acomodar el nombre, no creo que sea "Breast lumps." jejeje saludos y suerte :D

Hello, friends, this is my participation for this interesting contest in which I will show you the Christmas dish of my country. Name: Hallacas, roasted chicken, salad and ham bread. Country: Venezuela.

WP_20181225_008.jpg

6tag-1652079214-1417740219096041630_1652079214.jpg

Image of my smartphone.

This dish is disgusted in all the Christmas tables in Venezuela, the dish is prepared with mai flour, meat.
Carrots, potatoes, egg. The ham bread that carries raisins, olives, bacon and chicken salad potato, carrot and mayonnaise as a dressing. A Christmas tradition in my country is to meet as a family in houses normally wear new clothes that day dress very elegant for the goose.

WP_20181224_131.jpg

I say goodbye i hope you like my entry.

C__Data_Users_DefApps_AppData_INTERNETEXPLORER_Temp_Saved Images_image.png

@josyweed your entry is great, thank you! Best wishes for your family!

This project is being supported by @Fundition

Fundition is a next-generation, decentralized, peer-to-peer crowdfunding and collaboration platform, built on the Steem blockchain.

#upfundition and #fundition tags on Steem represent the projects that are started on https://fundition.io.

Are You Prepared to Make the World a Better Place too?

Read the full details of Fundition Fund program

Learn more about Fundition by reading our purplepaper

work_on_progess.gif

steemitf.pngtwitterf.pngyoutubef.pngfacebookf.pnginstaf.pngdiscordf.png
Join a community with heart based giving at its core

hi @the.foodini, i will go with a Greek traditional recipe:

Name: Χοιρινό με σέλινο ή πρασοσέλινο (pork with celery and/or leeks)
xoirino.png
Image from yoube video by © PCMVideo.WebTV.gr

Description:
It's a beautiful, juicy and lemony meat dish, which is very tasty if the meat has been slow cooked for hours, and comes off the bone.
For 6 people we need about 1.5 Kg pork, 0.5 Kg celery, 9 small leeks, 2 dry onions, and some people might add 4 - 5 small carrots.
For the sauce, we whisk 1 lemon juice and 2 very fresh egg yolks, and we mix them all together while the food is still hot.
If you want, you can google translate the following link:
http://www.bostanistas.gr/?i=bostanistas.el.article&id=3715
It is very comforting food, and just begs for some bread to scoop up the juices. And healthy too.

Christmas tradition: In some parts of Greece they will make big bonfires, to ward off the evil spirits, and they will ring some rather large bells.

I love pork, I would like to try that dish D:

i think you should. i love it.

I love Greek cuisine and pork, so it's definitely my style of food!
Great entry @koskl, thank you!

you are welcome!

Name: Hand-made Meat Dumplings with broth
Country: Italy 🇮🇹
Price: 5€/5.65$/24.57 Steem

Info: Italy is very famous in the world for its pasta and this kind is something that I really like. I waited for this kind of food contest and today I can show you what is my favorite dish during Christmas Holidays.
It is Cappelletti in brodo in Italian language. I made and cooked them during the Christmas days: I made 105 of them for all my family.
There is meat inside and it was a dish that my grandmother cooked. So it is a traditional dish in my family.
I explain the complete process in this post, but unfortunelly it is only in Italian.
You can see my last Christmas with dumplings in the link at the end of the post (Instagram link).
They were so tasty and all my family's members appreciated them.
IMG_20181226_004036.jpg
Thank you @the.foodini for your contest and have nice Winter Holidays.

Posted using Partiko Android

I want them! I want them ALL!!! 😜

Thank you for your entry @moncia90!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63626.66
ETH 2640.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75