Value the Food you eat, STOP WASTAGE!

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Do you value the food you eat?

Yes?

I know your answer is yes, my answer is yes too, but i am talking about "NOT WASTING IT".

Most of us appreciate the food we eat and feel grateful that we are blessed to have something(even plenty of it) to eat every single day. But the number is less when it comes to not wasting it? Ain't it?

dirt-2680647__480.jpg

--Oh, i just could not finish that pizza, i had to throw it, sorry.

--Oh, that tasted so bad, i could not eat it anymore, needed to throw, sorry.

--Oh, it got stale lying in my refrigerator for days, untill i remebered and had to throw it, sorry.

--Oh, what if i get more hungry, let me full up my plate. A moment later, i cannot eat the whole of it, i had to throw it, sorry.



How many of us go through this, i ask?

Many? Not so Many?

What about you?

Sometimes? or may be often?

What about me?

Frankly, often.

Yes i do it and i am guilty here, i stuff up my plate during office lunch sometimes and throw it later. Many-a-times, i order way more than my capacity at restaurents and end up wasting it. My real life examples are endless, i waste food AND I AM AT FAULT AND I MUST CORRECT MYSELF.



But why? Why do i care? I have all the money to afford food for wasting it? Then why bother?

First,
BECAUSE I HAVE SOME RESPONSIBILITY TOWARD MY PLANET TO NOT TO WASTE ANY OF ITS RESOURCES.

environment-2948299__480.jpg

We talk about saving energies, saving water, saving electricity, but you know what, all this goes into producing food i eat. Hence, i must not waste Food, to save food as well as all the resources that were put into growing that food.



Second,
There are people who die of Hunger.

people-1550501__480.jpg

You understand, how serious it is? PEOPLE ARE DYING BECAUSE THEY DONOT GET FOOD TO EAT. APPRECIATE IT BECAUSE YOU HAVE IT, EVERYDAY.
My heart aches when i hear, PEOPLE DYING OF HUNGER.

Supposing if i meet someone, who is about to die of hunger, and i could offer alot to eat to that fellow human from my plate and save a life.

But what i do?
I waste something so precious. Holy Lord, Forgive me.



Third,
The Food we eat takes A LOT OF EFFORTS TO GROW AND MAKE IT EDIBLE. AROUND 120 DAYS AVERAGE, AND YOU TAKE LESS THAN A MINUTE TO WASTE IT

Let me give you a very popular picture, which is a viral one on internet, in Indian community :

IMG-20171102-WA0000.jpg

the descriptions are in Hindi language, from Day 1 of Sowing to more than 145 days of being completely grown. And it shows how we take just 1 single minute to throw it in dustbin.

Sad, dooming.

We should put this realisation upon us, the value of food and stop it.


The realization is upon me since months and i try my best to not to waste food in any way, every single day of my life. I just wanted to make more people realise the value of food through this post of mine.

I know its hard sometimes to save all the food you have around you. But do it while you can.

DO YOUR PART AND I AM DOING MINE, May God bless us all.

PicSrc : Pixabay



If you like my work, follow me

@thatindianlady

With love :
Your's THAT Indian lady :

IMG_20170906_140041.jpg

Till next blog, HAPPY STEEMING

Sort:  

@thatindianlady Hunger and malnutrition is very bad but, before understanding these all, i really feel bad about the poor people but when i looked into the reality its something diffrerent.
lets start form The facts, In india everyone can easily get the food except tribal communites because they are not reachable
And in our society some asks for money to eat food and some asks for food. And people in india give them "aannaDan" India's major problem is growing population and lack of education and social awareness, if we think about the PPP (purchasing power parity) we will see the huge difference in everyones lifestyle and the HDI human development index is also shows the actual situation.
1st things - india need to control the population because, illiterate people are the ones who increasing the population, simple question is if you cant give your kid better life, better educations then why you wan't so much kids. when you go to visit slum and see the slum people and their population, you will understand whats their mentality is, how many children they have and what are they doing.
So, whole cycle starts from the population, why population increases because of no strict rules.
I saw many families there, who has 8 to 9 childerns, every kid goes to work but their parents don't, they collect all salaries of their kids and live life happily. Soon Some will leave the family without having the education and do the same thing what their mom dad did.
So, here is the thing some poeple really aware and don't care about the population, globle warming, nature and food wastage because they are too busy in their own life so, govt should take strict action but they won't because they want the community votes so, they cant talk action against the birth rate.
India has a highest rated tv and media shows but, lack of social awareness and common sense towards the society it drives us no where.
If we see the newzland, swedan, norway, austira the 1st thing you will see is civic sense and social awareness. perents teach their kids all these things. Means higher degree of education doesnt matter but civic sense and social awareness do. if we follow just these two things all remaning problem will be solved. do not see my comment offbit because what i says here is co-related to the problem you broughtup here.🤗 Thanks 👍

What a golden comment here, exactly, you summed up most problems of our country well, but we cannot do much when it comes to population control, we can just control the number of children coming forth to life around us and the civic sense, that is something we can and we must. 😊

@thatindianlady. Gud point raised...👍
Rather than throwing in bins better to utilize...

I never waste my food. I prefer to stay hungry !

Hehe funny but good :p

Really I stay hungry ;)

Hehe you should eat :p

Nice post. I never throw food. I put on the plate just as much as I can eat. It is better to take twice than to throw it. I teach kids that food should not be thrown away.

So good to know it, we need to teach it to everyone we can 😊😊

Nice Article. Please do post good articles like this, may be atleast some one would be following !!!

Yeaah thats my intent :)

Good. Keep Going my friend !!!

Thanks for the upvote dear 😋

not only throw away, but throw away INTO A PLASTIC BAG.

My word this is always something i think of when i throw my left over food away and its so wrong on many levels. Thank for reminding me again to not waste so many out there without any

Yeah thats the purpose of my post friend :)

This post was upvoted & promoted by @monitorcap traffic bot.

Send minimum 1 SBD to @monitorcap bot with your link in MEMO field and recieve random upvote & post promotion in our daily TOP posts listings. @monitorcap - where 'seen' matters !

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 96.0% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @thatindianlady
It consists of $21.0 vote and $4.68 curation
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @thatindianlady to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65692.16
ETH 3511.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53